Super Rugby

Highlanders beat Blues in Dunedin




2015 Super Rugby Champions the Highlanders host local rivals the Blues at home in Dunedin in the second match on Saturday.

Both the Highlanders and the Blues have played six matches this season and both have won three.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Blues kick off and the match is underway.

4.00: Both teams make a fast paced start to the match demonstrating that they want to run with the ball.

5.00: Penalty to the Blues from the line out for playing the man. Piers Francis kicks for touch.

8.00: Penalty to the Highlanders. Marty Banks takes the kick and nails it. Highlanders lead.

9.00: Penalty to the Blues. Francis kicks for touch and the line out.

11.00: The Blues go on the attack in the Highlanders half. Duffy sells a dummy and then passes back the other way. The Blues keep the ball alive and get it to Charlie Faumuina who crashes over to score. TRY!

12.00: Francis adds the conversion and the Blues lead.

15.00: First scrum of the match goes down. The Blues had the put it but they play on and then the ball is knocked on so the Highlanders have a scrum.

17.00: Scrum penalty to the Blues. Francis will have a penalty shot at goal.

19.00: Francis slots the penalty and extends the Blues lead.

22.00: Penalty to the Blues. It is kickable so Francis will have a shot.

23.00: Francis lines up the kick and nails it. Blues lead by 10.

27.00: The Blues go on the attack but the ball is turned over by the Highlanders. They get the ball into the Blues 22 but run out of attackers. The Highlanders go through five phases and Aaron Smith offloads to Ben Smith who slips through and scores. TRY!

28.00: Marty Banks adds the conversion.

31.00: Penalty to the Blues for a high tackle which came as a result of Kaino slipping over. No malice. The Blues kick to the half way line.

35.00: The Blues have the ball on attack 5m from the Highlanders line. They go through 5 phases but the Highlanders hang on. The Blues continue to push forward and they go over but we will go to the TMO to check the grounding. It’s good – TRY to Gerard Cowley-Tuioti.

36.00: Francis adds the conversion from in front.

40.00: Scrum penalty to the Highlanders as the siren sounds. Banks will have a shot.

41.00: Banks lines up the penalty kick and nails it. Banks has yet to miss a kick this season.

It’s half time.

The half time score was Highlanders 13 Blues 20

Marty Banks kicks off and the second half is underway.

43.00: The Highlanders start the half with a strong statement of intent. they work the ball to the Blues 5m line and have the Blues on the backfoot. On the 16th phase Banks goes for the line but is kept out. The Highlanders go again but Piers Francis saves a try. The Highlanders get the scrum put in 5m out.

44.00; Malakai Fekitoa goes for the line but is short. The TMO is called in to check. No try.

45.00: The Highlanders have a scrum and they go wide and this time Fekitoa does score. TRY!

46.00: Banks adds the conversion and levels the scores. Liam Squire comes on for the Highlanders.

50.00: The Highlanders hold on to the ball for several phases and steadily make ground. The Blues turn the ball over and Duffie makes huge ground with a kick and chase down the wing.

53.00: Penalty to the Highlanders. Banks takes the shot and puts the Highlanders into the lead for the first time.

54.00: Sonny Bill Williams comes on for his first Blues appearance – the crowd boos.

57.00: The Highlanders win a line out and then a penalty. Banks kicks for touch and sets up another line out.

59.00: The Highlanders are playing with their heads up and running the ball. They spread the ball wide but a final pass is poor and it slows the attack and the knock on comes.

63.00: The Blues have the ball on attack in the Highlanders half. After 6 phases they go to the wing but lose the ball forward in contact.

67.00: Sonny Bill Williams slips through a gap and and makes big ground for the Blues, he offloads but the Blues can’t keep the ball moving and a potential try goes begging as Ofa Tu’ungafasi was unaware Duffie was outside him.

69.00: As the Blues attack the highlanders line a boot (from Banks) gets to the ball and there is a chase for the ball as it bounces its way towards the other end. The Highlanders win a penalty on the 5m line which completes a full turnaround from one end to the other.

71.00: The Highlanders choose the penalty shot.

72.00: Banks slots the penalty and Matt Faddes comes on for the Highlanders.

75.00: The Highlanders look dangerous on attack in the Blues half. They almost get through but they lose the ball. Blues scrum just outside their own 22.

78.00: The Blues have the ball and have gone through 11 phases. The Blues get over the half way line but time is running out. 13 phases and they lose the ball forward.

80.00: The Highlanders boot the ball out after the siren and have won the match.

Live In-Play Betting.

The full time score is Highlanders 26 (13) Blues 20 (20)


Tries – B.Smith, M. Fekitoa
Pen – M.Banks 4
Con – M.Banks 2
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – C.Faumuina, G.Cowley-Tuioti,
Pen – P.Francis
Con – P.Francis 2
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Jamie Nutbrown
Assistant Ref 1: Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 2: James Doleman
TMO : Shane McDermott



1. Daniel Lienert-Brown,2. Liam Coltman , 3. Siosuia Halanukonuka , 4. Alex Ainley , 5. Tom Franklin , 6. Elliot Dixon , 7. Dillon Hunt , 8. Luke Whitelock , 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Marty Banks , 11. Patrick Osborne , 12. Richard Buckman , 13. Malakai Fekitoa , 14. Tevita Li , 15. Ben Smith ( c )

Replacements : 16. Greg Pleasants-Tate , 17. Aki Seiuli , 18. Siate Tokolahi , 19. Joe Wheeler , 20. Liam Squire , 21. Kayne Hammington , 22. Fletcher Smith , 23. Matt Faddes


1 Pauliasi Manu, 2 James Parsons ©, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 4 Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 5 Scott Scrafton, 6 Jerome Kaino, 7 Blake Gibson, 8 Steven Luatua; 9 Augustine Pulu, 10 Piers Francis, 11 Melani Nanai, 12 George Moala, 13. Rieko Ioane, 14 Matt Duffie, 15 Michael Collins.

Replacements: 16 Matt Moulds, 17 Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 18 Sione Mafileo, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Akira Ioane, 21 Billy Guyton, 22 Bryn Gatland, 23 Sonny Bill Williams.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.