Super Rugby

Chiefs beat Highlanders in Dunedin




The Highlanders and the Chiefs have met 42 times in Super Rugby, the Highlanders have won 12 matches, lost 29 games, and drawn once.

The Landers have played the Chiefs 19 times at home, winning seven, losing 11 times, and drawing once.

  • The Highlanders are undefeated in their last five Super Rugby games against the Chiefs (W4, D1); their 39-23 win over the Chiefs when they last met in Round 2 of this Super Rugby Aotearoa season was their biggest win against them since May 2015.
  • The Highlanders will be hunting for back-to-back Super Rugby wins for the first time since April 2019 after picking up a club-record 33-12 win over the Crusaders in their last game (Round 6, Super Rugby Aotearoa 2021).
  • The Chiefs have made 12 or more clean breaks in three of their last four Super Rugby games, more times than they had done so in their 13 games prior.
  • The Highlanders’ Billy Harmon and Chiefs’ Luke Jacobson have each hit 65 effective rucks this Super Rugby Aotearoa season, higher than any other players.
  • The Chiefs’ Brad Weber and Highlanders’ Jona Nareki have each made eight clean breaks this Super Rugby Aotearoa campaign, more than any other players in the competition.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

1.00: PEEEEP! We are underway at Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin.

2.00: An early penalty goes the way of the Chiefs.

3.00: MISS! Mitch Hunt pulls his kick wide. 0-0

6.00: TRY! Etene Nanai-Seturo finishes expertly in the corner after Brad Weber drew the defenders to open the space. 0-5

7.00: CONVERSION! Damian McKenzie converts from wide. 0-7

9.00: Naitoa Ah Kuoi is caught offsides, Hunt kicks to the 22.

10.00: TRY! James Lentjes breaks to the blindside, sells a dummy, and crashes over for the hosts. Brad Weber bought the dummy, which opened up space on the near side before the flanker busted through Kaleb Trask to score. Tony Brown enjoyed that. 5-7

11.00: MISS! Hunt cannot convert. 5-7

15.00: Both teams probing with kicks. The scrums are equal, the lineouts good.

17.00: NO TRY! The Chiefs have the try chalked off because McKenzie knocked on when competing for a high ball. 5-7

19.00: Highlanders kick the scrum penalty to the corner; however, they lose the ball forward trying to set up the driving maul.

21.00: Mitchell Brown is offsides, Hunt calls for the tee.

22.00: MISS! Hunt cannot put the hosts ahead, this time missing from almost in front. 5-7

24.00: The Chiefs are pinned in their 22 by a beautiful kick by Hunt.

27.00: The Highlanders are on the front foot. They have got themselves back into the contest, and are starting to cause problems for the Chiefs’ defence.

30.00: Another multi-phase attack ends with the Chiefs winning a penalty at the breakdown. Superb defending by the Waikato men.

31.00: Samisoni Taukei’aho’s lineout throw is not straight. Scrum to the hosts inside their half.

33.00: Damian McKenzie is going to take a long-range shot at goal after Bryn Evans strayed offside.

34.00: MISS! McKenzie’s kick is well wide as well as short of the posts. 5-7

36.00: MISS! McKenzie misses again, but this time from in front. 5-7

38.00: Aidan Ross knocks on in contact, but we are having another Captain’s Referal for a high tackle by Scott Gregory: penalty to the visitors.

40.00: The Highlanders win a ruck penalty after the Chiefs’ attack faltered near the goal line, but Ngatungane Punivai gives away a kickable penalty on the stroke of halftime.

41.00: PENALTY! McKenzie nails the long-range kick. 5-10

The halftime score was Highlanders 5 Chiefs 10

41.00: PEEEEP! We are back underway in New Zealand.

43.00: TRY! Aaron Smith takes Shannon Frizell’s pass, and swallow-dives in the corner to level the scores. 10-10

44.00: MISS! Hunt pulls his kick past the posts, he is having a shocker. 10-10

45.00: The Landers conceded a penalty from the restart.

46.00: PENALTY! McKenzie puts the Chiefs back in front. 10-13

50.00: Ngatungane Punivai cannot take the crossfield kick, knocking the ball into touch.

53.00: Mitch Drummond gives away another penalty, Hunt calls for the tee.

54.00: PENALTY! Hunt finally lands another kick, but he couldn’t miss from in front. 13-13

57.00: PENALTY! McKenzie puts the Chiefs back in front. 13-16

61.00: TRY! Angus Ta’avao crawls over the line to extend his side’s lead. 13-21

62.00: CONVERSION! McKenzie adds the extras. 13-23

65.00: The Landers have a defensive lineout near their line, Smith clears.

68.00: The Highlanders win a penalty after Alex Nankivell’s interception. Hunt kicks to the corner, but the home team’s driving maul has not been great this year.

70.00: TRY! The maul was better, but the Chiefs stopped the attack. They could not stop Josh Ioane though, who ghosts through to score. 18-23

71.00: CONVERSION! Ioane adds the extras. 20-23

74.00: It’s all Chiefs at the moment, but Aaron Smith pins the visitors inside their 22 after a magnificent clearance kick.

75.00: The Chiefs knock-on inside their 22 – oh, dear!

76.00: Luke Jacobson is pinged in front of the poles after going off his feet.

77.00: PENALTY! Ioane levels. 23-23

79.00: MISS! McKenzie misses his drop-goal. 23-23

80.00: The Chiefs win a penalty on the halfway line, McKenzie calls for the tee.

81.00: MISS! McKenzie pulls his kick wide, we are going to Golden Point –the first team to score, wins! 23-23

The final score was Highlanders 23 Chiefs 23

81.00: PEEEEP! We are back underway at Forsyth Barr Stadium.

82.00: Jona Nareki’s grubber pins the Chiefs inside their 22. The visitors then botch their lineout, gifting the Landers a free-kick. Scrum time!

84.00: MISS! Ioane misses the drop-kick! 23-23

85.00: Anton Lienert-Brown wins the Chiefs a kickable penalty. McKenzie will take a shot.

86.00: PENALTY! YES! McKenzie wins it for the Chiefs!


To refresh this page, click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Highlanders 23 (5) Chiefs 26 (10)


Tries – Lentjes, A. Smith, J. Ioane
Pen – Hunt, J. Ioane
Con – J. Ioane
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Nanai-Seturo, Angus Ta’avao
Pen – McKenzie (4)
Con – McKenzie (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Ben O’Keeffe
Assistant Ref 1: Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 2: Brendon Pickerill
TMO: Chris Hart



15 Connor Garden-Bachop, 14 Ngatungane Punivai, 13 Patelesio Tomkinson, 12 Scott Gregory, 11 Jona Nareki, 10 Mitch Hunt, 9 Aaron Smith (co-captain), 8 Kazuki Himeno, 7 James Lentjes, 6 Shannon Frizell, 5 Paripari Parkinson, 4 Bryn Evans, 3 Josh Hohneck, 2 Ash Dixon (co-captain), 1 Ethan De Groot

16 Liam Coltman, 17 Ayden Johnstone, 18 Siate Tokolahi, 19 Josh Dickson, 20 Billy Harmon, 21 Kayne Hammington, 22 Josh Ioane, 23 Hugh Renton


15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Jonah Lowe, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Quinn Tupaea, 11 Etene Nanai-Seturo, 10 Kaleb Trask, 9 Brad Weber (captain), 8 Luke Jacobson, 7 Kaylum Boshier, 6 Mitchell Brown, 5 Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 4 Tupou Vaa’i, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Aidan Ross

Replacements: 16 Bradley Slater, 17 Ollie Norris, 18 Joe Apikotoa, 19 Samipeni Finau, 20 Pita Gus Sowakula, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Alex Nankivell, 23 Shaun Stevenson

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.