Super Rugby

Highlanders beat Waratahs in Dunedin




The Highlanders defeated the NSW Waratahs (49-12) in their most recent meeting in Super Rugby (Round 18, 2019) – the biggest win by either side in the history of this fixture.

The Highlanders have won their last five Super Rugby home matches on the bounce against the NSW Waratahs after winning only one of their first seven meetings prior on home turf (L6).

  • The NSW Waratahs have lost their last 11 Super Rugby matches; only once in the history of the competition has any Australian team endured a longer losing streak (Rebels – 12 games from April 2011 to March 2012).
  • The NSW Waratahs have scored four tries starting possession from a scrum in Super Rugby Trans-Tasman, the second most of any team (Blues – 6).
  • Aaron Smith (Highlanders – not playing) has provided six try assists in Super Rugby Trans-Tasman this season, the most of any player in the competition and double the tally of NSW Waratahs’ best Jake Gordon (3).

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

1.00: PEEEEP! We are underway in Dunedin, New Zealand.

2.00: TRY! Michael Collins finishes off a sublime backline move to open the scoring. It is the 11th try from first-phase play.

3.00: CONVERSION! Mitch Hunt adds the extras.

6.00: It’s all Highlanders in the early stages in Dunedin, it will be tough for New South Wales to get anything from this game, but they need to put in a performance.

8.00: The Waratahs earn another penalty, Will Harrison calls for the tee. Take the points when you can (avoid a nilling, too).

9.00: PENALTY! Harrison puts the Tahs on the board. 7-3

10.00: Waratahs have another good attacking set-piece in the Landers’ 22.

11.00: TRY! Jack Maddocks gets on the outside of Jona Nareki, rounding the winger before cutting inside Sio Tomkinson to score. 7-8

12.00: CONVERSION! The kick is good. 7-10

14.00: Hunt kicks a penalty to the corner after Lalakai Foketi’s high tackle on Nareki.

15.00: TRY! Sio Tomkinson finishes a switch-move between himself and Collins after Scott Gregory’s loose pass sent Collins away. 12-10

16.00: CONVERSION! Hunt adds the two. 14-10

18.00: TRY! Hunt drops a high ball into the arms of Jack Dempsey, who sets David Porecki away down the touchline. The hooker draws the defender before slipping a pass to Mark Nawaqanitawase, who beats Jona Nareki to score. 14-15

19.00: CONVERSION! Harrison slots the wide kick. 14-17

20.00: Highlanders kick another penalty to the corner.

21.00: TRY! Ethan de Groot crashes around a ruck and through two defenders to score. 19-17

22.00: MISS! The kick is not good. 19-17

23.00: We have already had five lead changes in the game.

25.00: Landers have another attacking lineout in the Tahs’ 22.

26.00: De Groot knocks on inside the 22; this will be the first scrum of the game.

27.00: Josh Ioane knocks on inside his half to give the Waratahs another scrum.

28.00: Harrison calls for the tee after the Tahs win a scrum penalty. The kick is in front, from 45 metres out.

29.00: PENALTY! The kick is good, Tahs lead again. 19-20

30.00: Six lead changes in the game.

31.00: Harrison drops the ball to give the hosts an attacking scrum inside the NSW 22.

32.00: The Landers march the Waratahs back and win a penalty. Hunt kicks to the corner.

33.00: TRY! Ash Dixon flops over the chalk from the driving maul. 24-20

35.00: CONVERSION! Hunt makes no mistake. 26-20

36.00: Seven lead changes.

39.00: PENALTY! Harrison slots his third goal of the night. 26-23

41.00: TRY! The hooter sounds, but there is still time for Jona Nareki to dot down in the corner. 31-23

43.00: CONVERSION! Hunt slots the conversion. 33-23

The halftime score was Highlanders 33 NSW Waratahs 23

41.00: PEEEEP! We are back underway in New Zealand.

44.00: Nareki is tackled into touch-in-goal.

45.00: TRY! De Groot has a brace. The Tahs lose a 5m lineout, the Landers go through the phases before the prop powers over for his second score. 38-23

46.00: CONVERSION! Hunt adds the two. 40-23

50.00: This is the seventh time this season the Tahs have conceded 40 points – massive ouch!

53.00: NO TRY! Maddocks’ try is chalked off for a knock-on; however, the Waratahs still get the penalty for an early tackle. Harrison kicks to the corner. 40-23

56.00: Tahs kick a penalty to the Landers’ 22.

59.00: Nareki wins the turnover inside his 22 to earn his team a reprieve.

63.00: TRY! Kazuki Himeno crashes over after a superb rolling maul by the home team. 45-23

64.00: MISS! Hunt hits the lefthand upright. 45-23

68.00: This could be a record beating here if the Landers can keep their heads.

71.00: TRY! Nareki has a double! 50-23

73.00: CONVERSION! Hunt adds the two. 52-23

74.00: NO TRY! Gregory loses the ball over the line. 52-23

76.00: Highlanders have another scrum on the Waratahs’ line.

77.00: TRY! Teariki Ben-Nicholas reaches out to score from the back of the scrum. 57-23

78.00: CONVERSION! Hunt lands another two. 59-23

81.00: The game finally comes to end, Narteki could have had five tries.


To refresh this page, click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Highlanders 59 (33) Waratahs 23 (23)


Tries – Collins, Tomkinson, De Groot (2), Dixon, Nareki (2), Himeno, Ben-Nicholas
Pen –
Con – Hunt (7)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Maddocks, Nawaqanitawase
Pen – Harrison (3)
Con – Harrison (2)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Damon Murphy
Assistant Ref 1: James Doleman
Assistant Ref 2: Jono Brendin
TMO: Chris Hart



15 Josh Ioane, 14 Sio Tomkinson, 13 Michael Collins, 12 Scott Gregory, 11 Jona Nareki, 10 Mitch Hunt, 9 Kayne Hammington, 8 Kazuki Himeno, 7 Billy Harmon, 6 James Lentjes, 5 Bryn Evans, 4 Pari Pari Parkinson, 3 Siate Tokolahi, 2 Ash Dixon (captain), 1 Ethan de Groot

 16 Liam Coltman, 17 Daniel Lienert-Brown, 18 Josh Hohneck, 19 Josh Dickson, 20 Hugh Renton, 21 James Arscott, 22 Sam Gilbert, 23 Teariki Ben-Nicholas

NSW Waratahs

15 Jack Maddocks, 14 Alex Newsome, 13 Izaia Perese, 12 Lalakai Foketi, 11 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 10 Will Harrison, 9 Jake Gordon (captain), 8 Jack Dempsey, 7 Carlo Tizzano, 6 Lachlan Swinton, 5 Jack Whetton, 4 Jeremy Williams, 3 Darcy Breen, 2 David Porecki, 1 Andrew Tuala

 16 Robbie Abel, 17 Chris Talakai, 18 TBC, 19 Sam Caird, 20 Will Harris, 21 Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco, 22 Jack Grant, 23 Tane Edmed

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.