Hobbs takes control of Highlanders





The Highlanders have named their team to face the Blues on Friday in round 2 of the Super14 with Michael Hobbs coming in to the starting line.

Hobbs was on the bench last weekend against the Crusaders but came on just before half time and scored two tries and converted both.

This weekend he starts at 10 and will control the backline from the kick off.

Aside from gaining points on the Super 14 table the match against the Blues at Carisbrook in Dunedin has an added prize in that the Highlanders and Blues will be playing for the Gordon Hunter Memorial Trophy which is currently held by the Blues.

The Hunter family will be in attendance at the match to remember the man who coached both the Highlanders and the Blues before he died of cancer in 2001.


1 Jamie Mackintosh ( vc ) , 2 Jason Rutledge , 3 Clint Newland , 4 Josh Bekhuis , 5 Tom Donnelly , 6 Adam Thomson , 7 Alando Soakai , 8 Steven Setephano , 9 Jimmy Cowan ( c ) , 10 Michael Hobbs , 11 James Paterson , 12 Jayden Hayward , 13 Jason Shoemark , 14 Ben Smith , 15 Israel Dagg

Reserves : 16. Jason Macdonald , 17. Chris King , 18. Hayden Triggs , 19. John Hardie , 20. Sean Romans 21. Robbie Robinson, 22. Fetu’u Vainikolo

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.