Super Rugby

Horrell returns for Chiefs against Hurricanes




The Chiefs have been able to name Andrew Horrell in their team for the first time this year on Saturday when the Hamilton side play the Hurricanes in Wellington.

Horrell comes into the side on the replacements bench and will win his 50th cap for the Chiefs having missed the start of the season due to a groin injury.

In the forwards Chiefs head coach Dave Rennie has named Mitchell Graham, Rhys Marshall and Atu Moli to pack down in the front row, with Michael Allardice and Brodie Retallick partnering at lock.

Tom Sanders, co-captain Sam Cane and Michael Leitch form a formidable loose-forward trio to complete the forward pack.

In the backs, the combination of halfback Brad Weber and first five-eighth Aaron Cruden starts for the fourth consecutive game.

Charlie Ngatai and Seta Tamanivalu team up in the mid-field with Sam McNicol, Toni Pulu and Damian McKenzie rounding out the backline.

Nepo Laulala, Mitchell Karpik, Augustine Pulu, Johan Bardoul, Pauliasi Manu, Sam Henwood, Anton Lienert-Brown, Sam Vaka, Dominic Bird, James Lowe and Tevita Koloamatangi were not considered for selection due to injury.

With just four points separating the New Zealand Conference leaders from last year’s Super Rugby finalists the Hurricanes, supporters can expect a fast-paced, physical battle between these long-standing rivals as they hunt for victory this Saturday.


1. Mitchell Graham , 2. Rhys Marshall , 3. Atu Moli, 4. Michael Allardice , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Tom Sanders, 7. Sam Cane (CC), 8. Michael Leitch , 9. Brad Weber , 10. Aaron Cruden (CC), 11. Sam McNicol , 12. Charlie Ngatai , 13. Seta Tamanivalu, 14. Toni Pulu , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements : 16. Hika Elliot , 17. Siate Tokolahi , 18. Siegfried Fisi’ihoi , 19. Taleni Seu , 20. Maama Vaipulu , 21. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 22. Andrew Horrell , 23. Glen Fisiiahi.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.