Super 14 Rugby

Hurricanes hammer Cheetahs



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


This was a live score update. Full report to follow.




The Cheetahs have changed both their half backs for this match. The Hurricanes have lost Jerry Collins which is a blow. The Hurricanes however have depth that will be enough to cover the loss of Collins.

Saturday April 26
Absa Park, Kimberley
Referee: Ian Smith (Australia)
Touch judges: Paul Marks (Australia), Marius Jonker (South Africa)
Television match official: Johann Meuwesen (South Africa)
Assessor: Arrie Schoonwinkel (South Africa) ,
Performance Auditor: Ian Scotney (Australia)
Head-to-Head: Played 3, Hurricanes 2, Cheetahs 1
In Kimberley: N/A
Last season: Round 10, April 13 2007: Hurricanes 37-15 at Westpac Stadium, Wellington


Match Detail


By half time the Cheetahs had scored one try and the Hurricanes had scored three.


Jason Eaton, Rodney So’oialo & Ma’a Nonu had all scored a try each by half time so the Hurricanes only needed one more try for a bonus point.


The bonus point came not long after the second half started and they Hurricanes continued to hammer away at the Cheetahs.


In all the Hurricanes scored six tries to the Cheetahs one.


Jongi Nokwe scored the only try for the Cheetahs while Conrad Barnard has scored a penalty and converted the try.


The final score is Cheetahs 10  Hurricanes 38


Full report to follow.





Tries – Jongi Nokwe

Pen – Conrad Barnard

Con – Conrad Barnard



Tries – Eaton, So’oialo, Nonu,  Guildford, Jane, Waldrom.

Pen –

Con – Piri Weepu (3)Willie Ripia




Hennie Daniller; Eddie Fredericks, JW Jonker, Meyer Bosman, Jongi Nokwe; Conrad Barnard, Falie Oelschig; Duanne Vermeulen, Juan Smith (capt.), Heinrich Brussow, Barend Pieterse, Rory Duncan, CJ van der Linde, Adriaan Strauss, Wian du Preez.

Reserves: Richardt Strauss, Bees Roux, David de Villiers, Hendro Scholtz, Tewis de Bruyn, Bevin Fortuin, Hendrik Meyer.



Cory Jane, Hosea Gear, Conrad Smith, Ma’a Nonu, Zac Guildford, Willie Ripia, Piri Weepu, Rodney So’oialo (captain), Scott Waldrom, Chris Masoe, Jason Eaton, Jeremy Thrush, Tim Fairbrother, Andrew Hore, Neemia Tialata.

Reserves: Hikawera Elliot, Jacob Ellison, Bernie Upton, Craig Clarke, Brett Goodin, Tane Tu’ipulotu, Tamati Ellison.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.