Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Hurricanes make four changes for Sunwolves

Centre Matt Proctor returns to the starting line up

WELLINGTON, NEW ZEALAND - APRIL 27: Finlay Christie of the Hurricanes celebrates with Matt Proctor, Brad Shields, Vince Aso and Reed Prinsep after scoring a try on debut during the round 11 Super Rugby match between the Hurricanes and Sunwolves at Westpac Stadium on April 27, 2018 in Wellington, New Zealand. (Photo by Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images)

Hurricanes Super rugby head coach John Plumtree has named a team with four changes for this Friday’s match against the Sunwolves in Tokyo.

This match was originally scheduled to take place on Saturday but has been moved to Friday.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Beauden and Jordie Barrett, along with Ardie Savea, are on an All Blacks rest week and have not traveled to Japan.

Their absence sees experienced centre Matt Proctor return to the run-on side with Fletcher Smith named at first five-eighth and Du’Plessis Kirifi at openside flanker.

The other change sees young lock Liam Mitchell named to start in place of Kane Le’aupepe.

There are five changes to the bench which features the return of James Marshall who has recovered from a shoulder injury he suffered in round one against the Waratahs.

Plumtree has reverted back to a five-three split on the bench that includes Richard Judd and exciting young midfielder Billy Proctor.

“There is no doubt the bye came at a good time for the squad which played 10 games in a row when you include our pre-season matches,” Plumtree said.

“The players came back into work on Saturday and they have enjoyed a freshen up. They are really looking forward to facing a Sunwolves side who are also fresh off the bye and will be looking for a good performance in front of their home crowd.”


15 Chase Tiatia, 14 Wes Goosen, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Ben Lam, 10 Fletcher Smith, 9 TJ Perenara (captain), 8 Reed Prinsep, 7 Du’Plessis Kirifi, 6 Vaea Fifita, 5 Liam Mitchell, 4 James Blackwell, 3 Ben May, 2 Ricky Riccitelli, 1 Fraser Armstrong

Replacements:16 Asafo Aumua, 17 Xavier Numia, 18 Jeff To’omaga-Allen, 19 Isaia Walker-Leawere, 20 Sam Henwood, 21 Richard Judd, 22 James Marshall, 23 Billy Proctor

Exit mobile version