Super Rugby

Hurricanes make one change for Chiefs



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Hurricanes coach Chris Boyd has made one change for this weekend’s Super Rugby match against the Chiefs at Westpac Stadium on Saturday with Blade Thomson returning to the side.

Blade Thomson missed the #Hurricanes last match due to a bruised knee and he has now recovered and returns to the side replacing Vaea Fifita who rotates to the bench.

Hurricanes coach Chris Boyd said his selections reflected the strong performance against the #Rebels in Melbourne last week where his side picked up five valuable competition points.

“We are building a lot of competition in the squad through performance and there were some tough calls when it came to selection, but this group got the job done away from home last week and there weren’t any compelling reasons to make too many changes.”

Boyd has also been able to strengthen his bench considerably with a number of players returning from minor injuries.

Openside Callum Gibbins is back after a week off due to a sore Achilles, halfback Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi has recovered from a swollen knee, and utility back James Marshall is over the concussion that kept him out of the last two matches. ,

Willis Halaholo edges out Ngani Laumape as the final backs reserve, while loose head prop Loni Uhila gets an opportunity with Ben May out with a stiff neck. Boyd said there was no doubt the Chiefs represented a significant step up for the squad.

“I won’t have to say a lot this week. The team knows this is a big match and the Chiefs form and team sheet speak for themselves. They are a well-coached side that poses threats across the park. We will have to be at our best at both ends of the park if we want to compete.”

Ben May (neck), Nehe Milner-Skudder (shoulder) were unavailable for selection due to injury.


15 Jason Woodward , 14 Cory Jane , 13 Matt Proctor , 12 Vince Aso , 11 Julian Savea , 10 Beauden Barrett , 9 TJ Perenara (vc) , 8 Victor Vito , 7 Ardie Savea , 6 Brad Shields , 5 Michael Fatialofa , 4 Blade Thomson , 3 Jeff Toomaga-Allen , 2 Dane Coles (c) , 1 Reggie Goodes

Replacements: Motu Matu’u, Chris Eves, Loni Uhila, Vaea Fifita, Callum Gibbins, Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, James Marshall, Willis Halaholo.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.