Super 14 Rugby

Hurricanes & Sharks draw


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Full report to follow.





This match could turn out to be the game of the weekend. Wellington’s past coach John Plumtree jumped ship to coach the Sharks will have advised the Sharks players all of the Hurricanes deficiencies and most of the Canes players will know what to expect from Plumtree.

Saturday April 5
Venue :Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Referee: Paul Marks (Australia)
Assistant Referees : Kelvin Deaker (Australia), James Scholtens (New Zealand)
TV Match Official : Brent Murray (New Zealand)
Reviewer/Perf. Auditor : Kim Eichamnn (New Zealand)
Head-to-Head: Played 12, Hurricanes 6, Sharks 6
In Wellington/New Plymouth: Played 6, Hurricanes 3, Sharks 3
Last season: Round 7, March 17 2007: Sharks 27-14 Hurricanes at Absa Stadium, Durban


Match detail


0.00: We are waiting for the kick off.


6.00: The Hurricanes were the first to give away a penalty so Ruan Pienaar took the kick and even though he slipped when taking the kick he slotted it to put the Sharks in front.


14.00:The Sharks got themselves into a bit of trouble behind their line and eventually gave a penalty away.


15.00: Jimmy Gopperth took the penalty kick and levelled the scores.


26.00: The Sharks go on the attack and get the ball behind the Hurricanes. Jane and Terblanche scramble to dot the ball down but neither gets control of the ball. No try.


28.00: Francois Steyn takes a shot at goal for a penalty from a fair way out but misses.


34.00: Ma’a Nonu has a run and looks dangerous but eventually he is caught. 


37.00: Jimmy Gopperth has a shot at goal for a penalty but misses.


40.00: The siren goes for half time.


The half time score was Hurricanes 3 Sharks 3


41.00: Frans Steyn opened the second half with a shot at goal for a penalty but missed.

47.00: Chris Masoe has a run down the wing but Terblanche gets their first – still no change in the score.


51.00: Corey Jane gives away a penalty for a late tackle. Frans Steyn takes the shot at the posts and gets it which puts the Sharks into the lead.


58.00. Stefan Terblanche gives a penalty for not releasing the ball. Jimmy Gopperth takes the kick and it hits the posts.


59.00: Neemia Tialata gets sent to the bin for a late tackle. Frans Steyn takes the at for posts for the penalty but misses.


64.00: Epi Taione gets a red card for a head butt on a Hurricanes player.


68.00: The Sharks then give away a penalty in front of the posts for playing the ball on the ground. Jimmy Gopperth takes the kick and slots it to level the scores.


70.00: The Ref awards a penalty try to the Sharks for pulling down the maul as it crosses the tryline.


71.00: Frans Steyn takes the conversion and it’s good.


74.00: Corey Jane has a great run and the Canes get the overlap but the Sharks give a penalty away for offside.


75.00: Andrew Hore gets a try for the Hurricanes from a rolling maul.


76.00: Jimmy Gopperth converts the try to level the scores again.


77.00: The Sharks get a penalty so Rory Kockott takes the kick but it hits the posts.


The full time score is Hurricanes 13 Sharks 13



Tries – Hore
Pen -Gopperth (2)
Con -Gopperth
Cards – Tialata (yellow)


Tries – Penalty
Pen -Pienaar, Steyn
Con -Steyn
Cards – Taione (Red)



15 Cory Jane, 14 Ma’a Nonu, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Tane Tu’ipulotu, 11 Shannon Paku, 10 Jimmy Gopperth, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Rodney So’oialo (c), 7 Chris Masoe, 6 Jerry Collins, 5 Jason Eaton, 4 Craig Clarke, 3 Neemia Tialata, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 John Schwalger.
Reserves: 16 Hikawera Elliot, 17 Jacob Ellison, 18 Jeremy Thrush, 19 Thomas Waldrom, 20 Alby Mathewson, 21 Willie Ripia, 22 Hosea Gear.


15. Stefan Terblanche, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Francois Steyn, 12. Bradley Barritt, 11. JP Pietersen, 10. Frederic Michalak, 9. Ruan Pienaar, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Keegan Daniel, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Johann Muller ( Capt ), 4. Steven Sykes, 3. BJ Botha
2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16. Craig Burden, 17. Jannie du Plessis, 18. Albert van den Berg, 19. AJ Venter, 20. Epi Taione, 21. Rory Kockott, 22. Adrian Jacobs.   

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.