Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Hurricanes storm to victory over Bulls

The Hurricanes outplayed the Bulls at Loftus in the last match of Round nine of the 2008 Super 14 beating them by 22 points to 50.

In the fifth minute Ma’a Nonu opened the scoring by cutting through the Bulls defence to score under the posts.


Seventeen minutes later the Hurricanes had the bonus point for scoring four tries and Ma’a Nonu had scored his second try.


The match wasn’t plain sailing for the Hurricanes as they were down to thirteen men before half time after Conrad Smith and Jerry Collins had been sent to the bin for 10 minutes each.

Centre Ma’a Nonu crossed the line twice and flanker Chris Masoe and centre Conrad Smith once each to give the New Zealanders a 28-3 lead midway through the opening half.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

The error-prone South Africans cut the deficit to 18 points by half-time only to concede three more tries within seven minutes during the second half before a stunned Loftus Versfeld crowd.

Success lifted the Hurricanes five places to third on the southern hemisphere inter-provincial championship standings behind runaway leaders Canterbury Crusaders of New Zealand, and the Coastal Sharks of South Africa.

But while the Wellington franchise can dream of a top-four finish and a place in the knockout phase, the first South African winners of the annual competition lie second last after five consecutive defeats.

“We were shocking,” was the blunt assessment of scrum-half and captain Fourie du Preez as the Bulls returned to their home ground after a dismal four-match Australasia tour.

But Hurricanes skipper and number eight Rodney So’oialo refused to rub salt into gaping South African wounds: “It is always difficult to come away from Loftus with five points.”

The All Black was far too kind to opponents forced to make 80 tackles and missed a further 39, leading former Springbok and Bulls fly-half legend Naas Botha to label the defending champions “chaotic.”

“This team contains many of the players who won the title last year, but the system is no longer working. Drastic action is required,” a disillusioned Botha told SuperSport viewers.

Hurricanes outplayed the Bulls in all sectors and forged ahead on five minutes when Nonu slipped past several half-hearted tackles to dot down for the first of seven tries.

Bulls fly-half Derick Hougaard cut the deficit to four points with a penalty only for Masoe, Smith and Nonu to add tries and fly-half Jimmy Gopperth added four conversions.

While Hurricanes loose forward Jerry Collins was in the ‘sin bin’, Pierre Spies got the first of three Bulls tries and Hougaard converted to complete the first-half scoring with the Hurricanes 28-10 ahead.

Gopperth succeeded with one of three penalty attempts before another try spree saw hooker Hikawera Elliott, wing Shannon Paku and fullback Cory Jane score with Gopperth and scrum-half Piri Weepu adding one conversion each.

A late Bulls revival produced tries for flanker Wikus van Heerden and prop Jaco Engels with replacement fly-half Morne Steyn converting one to give the final scoreline a flattering look.

The Hurricanes travel south to Cape Town for a showdown with resurgent  Stormers at Newlands next Saturday while the Bulls face fellow strugglers Highlanders of New Zealand at Loftus the same day.


The full time score is Bulls 22 Hurricanes 50





Tries -Pierre Spies, Wikus van Heerden ,Jaco Engels

Pen – Derick Hougaard

Con – Derick Hougaard, Morne Steyn
Cards – Wynand Olivier (yellow)



Tries –  Nonu (2) ,Masoe, Smith,Hikawera ,Elliot,  Paku. Jane

Pen – Jimmy Gopperth

Con – Jimmy Gopperth (5) Weepu

Cards – Conrad Smith (yellow), Jerry Collins (yellow)


Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Referee: James Leckie (Australia)
Assistant Referees : Geoff Acton (Australia), JC Fortuin (South Africa)
TV Match Official : Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)
Match Reviewer Perf. Auditor : Dennis Immelman (South Africa)




Zane Kirchner; Akona Ndungane, JP Nel, Wynand Olivier, Bryan Habana; Derick Hougaard, Fourie du Preez ‘; Pierre Spies, Wikus van Heerden, Pedrie Wannenburg, Danie Rossouw, Bakkies Botha, Rayno Gerber, Derick Ku’n, Gurthr’ Steenkamp.

Reserves: Bandise Maku, Werner Kruger, Jaco Engels, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Heini Adams, Morn’ Steyn, Deon Stegmann.

Hurricanes :

Cory Jane, Hosea Gear, Conrad Smith, Ma’a Nonu, Shannon Paku, Jimmy Gopperth, Piri Weepu, Rodney So’oialo (captain), Chris Masoe, Jerry Collins, Jason Eaton, Jeremy Thrush, Tim Fairbrother, Andrew Hore, John Schwalger.
Reserves: Hikawera Elliot, Neemia Tialata, Jacob Ellison, Craig Clarke, Scott Waldrom, Alby Mathewson, Tamati Ellison.

Exit mobile version