Super Rugby

Injuries force Waratahs to change for Chiefs




Waratahs Super rugby head coach Rob Penney has been forced into making several changes to the team that beat the Lions for this Friday’s match against the Chiefs.

Rob Simmons (ankle), Jake Gordon (knee), Mark Nawaqnaitawase (back) and Tom Robertson (back) have all been omitted from the Round 6 squad – however, their injures are not considered serious.

Ryan McCauley, Mitch Short and James Ramm all join the starting XV; with Rory O’Connor and three potential debutants in Pat Tafa, Michael McDonald and Siosifa Lisala all joining the bench.

The changes also see Kurtley Beale elevated to the captaincy, the first time he has led his state in Super Rugby with Jack Dempsey appointed vice-captain.


15 Kurtley Beale (c), 14 James Ramm, 13 Alex Newsome, 12 Karmichael Hunt, 11 Jack Maddocks, 10 Will Harrison, 9 Mitch Short, 8 Jack Dempsey, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Lachlan Swinton, 5 Tom Staniforth, 4 Ryan McCauley, 3 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 2 Robbie Abel, 1 Angus Bell

Replacements: 16 Damien Fitzpatrick, 17 Rory O’Connor, 18 Tetera Faulkner, 19 Pat Tafa, 20 Jed Holloway, 21 Michael McDonald, 22 Lalakai Foketi, 23 Siosifa Lisala

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.