Currie Cup

Injury hit W.Province ring the changes for EP Kings




Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Western Province recovered from a slow slow start to hit form in the second half and finish as 50-19 winners over the Pumas in their Currie Cup match at Newlands on Saturday afternoon.

The Pumas held a 19-15 halftime lead but once second-half play started, Province were a transformed side and the visitors were never let into the game again

Western Province were forced to make a late change when flanker Chris Cloete pulled out with an injury and was replaced by Jurie van Vuuren comes.

The visiting Pumas created most of the early pressure and a shaky start and they could have taken a sixth-minute lead but their No 10 Justin van Staden failed with an angled penalty attempt.

Six minutes later Province opened the scoring in the match after their eighthman Nizaam Carr raced away from the back of the line-out to score in the corner. Flyhalf Robert du Preez failed to convert (5-0).

Pumas responded almost immediately from the kick-off with a penetrative sortie in the Province half where unmarked leftwing Rosko Specman, positioned well wide and unmarked, was fed a long looping pass and he ran to dot down in the corner. Van Staden missed the conversion and scores were tied at 5-all.

Province outside centre Johnny Kotze was yellow-carded for a dangerous tackle in the 24th minute and the Pumas made the numerical advantage count when the burly Stormers prop Vincent Koch, who has returned to
the Pumas for the Currie Cup season, barged his way over for his side’s second try. This time, Van Staden’s conversion was on target (12-5).

The closing stages of the first half was a rousing affair as attack triumphed over defence resulting in frequent score changes.

In the 34th minute Province scrumhalf Jano Vermaak scored a converted try (12-12) and two minutes later Specman raced in for a second try which was converted by Van Staden allowing the visitors to regain the lead at 19-12.

Province finished the half strongly but their lone reward was a Du Preez penalty just ahead of the halftime whistle and the teams changed ends with Pumas enjoying a 19-15 lead.

An early second-half driving maul set up Province for their third try in the match and this time Kobus van Wyk was on hand to score. Du Preez goaled the conversion and the lead changed hands once more with Province taking a 22-19 lead in the 44th minute.

As the second half wore on, Province gained the upper hand and they made their ascendancy count with a bonus-point try in the 50th minute by Du Preez who added the extras to take the lead out to 10 points at 29-19.

Ten minutes later Du Preez repeated the feat and his seven-point contribution saw Province move ahead 36-19.

Loosie Van Vuuren went over for try No 6 in the 66th minute and this time substitute Demetri Catrakilis added the extras for a 43-19 lead.

Prop Ali Vermaak rounded off the scoring with a final-minute try which Catrakilis converted to raise the 50-point mark.

Final Score Western Province 50 (15) Pumas 19 (19)


Western Province
Tries: Nizaam Carr, Jano Vermaak, Kobus Van Wyk, Robert du Preez (2), Jurie van Vuuren, Ali Vermaak
Conversions: Du Preez (4), Demetri Catrakilis (2)
Penalty: Du Preez

Tries: Rosko Specman (2), Vincent Koch
Conversions: Justin van Staden (2)

Match Officials
Referee: Cwengile Jadezweni


Western Province

15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Huw Jones, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Nizaam Carr (c), 7 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6 Chris Cloete, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jan de Klerk, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Mbongeni Mbonambi, 1 Oli Kebble.

Replacements: 16 Michael Willemse, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Jean Kleyn, 19 Jurie van Vuuren, 20 Nic Groom, 21 Demetri Catrakilis, 22 Jaco Taute.


15 Hoffmann Maritz, 14 Bernado Botha, 13 Jerome Pretorius, 12 Wilmaure Louw, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Justin van Staden, 9 Francois de Klerk (c), 8 Jason-Colin Fraser, 7 Jaco Bouwer, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Marius Coetzer, 4 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Frank Herne, 1 Corné Fourie.

Replacements: 16 Simon Westraadt, 17 Khwezi Mona, 18 Rudi Mathee, 19 Uzair Cassiem, 20 Johan Herbst, 21 Hennie Skorbinski, 22 Deon Helberg.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.