Investec Western Province vs Vodacom Blue Bulls





CAPE TOWN – The rivalry between Western Province and the Blue Bulls is so deeply ingrained in South Africa’s rugby tapestry that the mere mention of the words “Streeptruie” and “Ligbloues” conjures up vivid images of hard-fought provincial battles and memorable contests that have shaped the game for more than a century.

The two adversaries, arguably the most successful Provincial Unions in the SA game, will meet in an Absa Currie Cup Premier Division clash at Newlands in Cape Town on Saturday, continuing the fiercest rugby tradition in the history of the Absa Currie Cup.

Between them, Investec Western Province and the Vodacom Blue Bulls have won the Absa Currie Cup title 53 times. During the late 1970’s and throughout the 1980’s, South Africa’s premier domestic trophy was won by either one of these two for 13 consecutive seasons – from 1977 until 1989, the Bulls won the title six times, WP won it five times – consecutively from 1982 to 1986 – and they shared the title twice.

In the eight years since 1997, Western Province have won the Absa Currie Cup title three times (1997, 2000 and 2001) and the Blue Bulls have won it four times (1998, 2002, 2003, 2004).

There is not much to choose either between their last ten meetings with the Bulls having won five, WP four and one being drawn. The closeness of their rivalry is such that it is never safe to assume and always difficult to hazard a guess on the outcome, no matter what the circumstances.  However, when they meet on Saturday there are a few significant factors that cannot be overlooked.

Despite enjoying home ground advantage, Western Province are without several of their Bok stars, which could prove to be a telling factor against the defending champions. The home side will be looking to erase last week’s shock loss to the Boland Cavaliers and a big game is expected of some of their young stars.

The Blue Bulls have a record of winning in Cape Town – they won the corresponding Absa Currie Cup fixture in 2004 by 20 points to 7 and also won in Cape Town in 1999.

Earlier this year during the Vodacom Super 12, the Bulls beat the Stormers 75 – 14 in Pretoria and it remains to be seen whether this may have any bearing on this latest encounter

The Newlands faithful always rise to the occasion when the Blue Bulls are in town and there is every chance that another classic is in store. The match kicks off at 17h00 and is live on M-Net and SuperSport 1.

Last 10 meetings in the Absa Currie Cup

Western Provincehave won: 4

Blue Bulls have won: 5

Drawn: 1

2004                Western Province 36 Blue Bulls 36 – in Pretoria

                      Western Province 7 Blue Bulls 20 – in Cape Town

2003                Western Province 63 Blue Bulls 26 – in Cape Town

                      Western Province 29 Blue Bulls 64  – in Pretoria

2002                Western Province 26 Blue Bulls 35  – in Pretoria

2001                Western Province 22 Blue Bulls 19  – in Pretoria

2000                Did not play with Blue Bulls in 1st Division

1999                Western Province 24 Blue Bulls 33 – in Cape Town

1998                Western Province 20 Blue Bulls 24 – in Pretoria (Final)

                      Western Province 38 Blue Bulls 20  – in Pretoria

1997                Western Province 52 Blue Bulls 34  –  in Cape Town

Previous meetings in Absa Currie Cup Finals

Total: 11

WPhave won 4

Blue Bullshave won 5

Shared– 2

1998                Western Province20 Blue Bulls 24  – in Pretoria

1989                Western Province 16 Blue Bulls 16 – in Cape Town

1988                Western Province 18 Blue Bulls 19  – in Pretoria

1985                Western Province 22 Blue Bulls 15 – in Cape Town

1983                Western Province 9 Blue Bulls 3  – in Pretoria

1982                Western Province 24 Blue Bulls 7 – in Cape Town

1980                Western Province 9 Blue Bulls 39  – in Pretoria

1979                Western Province 15 Blue Bulls 15 – in Cape Town

1969                Western Province 13 Blue Bulls 28 – in Pretroia

1954                Western Province 11 Blue Bulls 8 – in Cape Town

1946                Western Province 9 Blue Bulls 11  – in Pretoria

Previous Absa Currie Cup titles

Western Province            32 (shared 4 times) – first title in 1889

Blue Bulls                        21 (shared 3 times) – first title in 1946

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.