Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Jaguares name 34 man squad for pre-season tour

Nicolas Sanchez is one of 34 players in the Jaguares squad

Nicolas Sanchez has survived the changes in the Argentina backline

Argentina’s Super Rugby team The Jaguares have named a 34 man squad for their pre-season tour of South Africa.

The Jaguares will play the Stormers in Cape Town this weekend before moving on to Johannesburg where they will take on the Lions a week later.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

The Jaguares begin their Super Rugby campaign in Bloemfontein on Friday the 26th of February so they should be accustomed to the South African style of rugby by then.

“It is great challenge that lies ahead,” said Jaguares coach Raul Perez.

“The two friendlies against Stormers and Lions will be a true test. We will be looking to give all 34 players a chance against the Stormers and Lions before that match against the Cheetahs.”

The Jaguares will also be boosted by the signing of fullback/wing Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, who completed is three-month spell with Irish giants Munster.

The player signed a contract with the Argentina Rugby Union for the 2016 and 2017 seasons. The 30-year-old will start training in mid-February.

Meanwhile, the Argentine team unveiled their home and away jerseys for this year’s tournament. One will have an all-black look to it while the other is bright orange in colour.

Jaguares squad:

Matias Alemanno, Felipe Arregui, Gabriel Ascarate, Rodrigo Baez, Cristian Bartolini, Gonzalo Bertranou, Emiliano Boffelli, Thomas Carrio, Santiago Cordero, Agustin Creevy, Jeronimo De la Fuente, Felipe Ezcurra, Santiago Garcia Botta, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Ramiro Herrera, Santiago Iglesias Valdez, Facundo Isa, Martin Landajo, Ignacio Larrague, Thomas Lavanini, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Thomas Lezana, Pablo Matera, Julian Montoya, Matias Moroni, Ramiro Moyano, Lucas Noguera, Matias Orlando, Javier Ortega Desio, Guido Petti, Nicolas Sanchez, Leonardo Senatore, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Joaquin Tuculet.

Exit mobile version