Super Rugby

Jaguares v Chiefs Super Rugby Rd.4 Preview



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


The final match in the Super Rugby round 4 is a historic match as it will be first time that a Super Rugby match will be played in Argentina.

The match will be the Jaguares first home match in Super Rugby and they host 2012 and 2013 champions the Chiefs.

The Jaguares have impressed in their two opening matches but their discipline has let them down at times. They beat the Cheetahs in their first match but then lost to the Sharks and had a bye last week.

The Chiefs have played three matches so far and they have won two and lost one. They opened the season with a victory in Christchurch over the Crusaders but then lost at home to the Lions.

The Chiefs beat the Kings last week in South Africa and then had to travel to Argentina for the match. That travel has to have an impact at some stage.

The Jaguares have made six changes to the side that lost to the Sharks but also handed debuts to Juan Martin Hernandez and Juan M. Leguizamon.

In the forwards Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro comes in for Herrera, Thomas Lavanini is replaced by Alemanno, Juan Manuel Leguizamon comes in for Rodrigo Baez,

In the Jaguares back line Juan Martin Hernandez replaces Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias and he partners Jerome de la Fuente who comes into the starting team and pushes Matias Moroni to the replacements bench.

Finally Santiago Cordero moves from fullback to the wing this week and Jaoquin Tuculet wears the 15 jersey.

The Chiefs have named an experienced team for this match. In the forwards, Japan tighthead specialist Hiroshi Yamashita and veteran hooker Hika Elliot return to the starting team n alongside Mitchell Graham who retains his place at loosehead.

Michael Allardice and Johan Bardoul continue their locking partnership, with Tom Sanders returning to the fold to start at blindside flanker alongside co-captain Sam Cane and number 8 Michael Leitch.

There are three changes in the backs, with Tawera Kerr-Barlow getting the nod at halfback and Sam McNicol set to make his first start for the Chiefs on the right wing.

Anton Lienert-Brown will make first start of the season at centre with Seta Tamanivalu ready to add impact off the bench.

The rest of the backline is unchanged with first five-eighth Aaron Cruden, wing James Lowe and second five-eighth Charlie Ngatai retaining their jerseys for the third consecutive week. Damian McKenzie retains the fulll back jersey.

The Bookies have given the Chiefs a 3 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to £200 in Bonus bets. The Jaguares have named a near international side and Argentina teams have always been tough to beat at home. Add the Chiefs travel factor and the Jaguares should edge this by three.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 3.

Average score: N/A

No past results

Match No.33:Jaguares v Chiefs
Date : Velez Sarsfield, Buenos Aires
Venue : Saturday 19 March 2016
Kick Off local: 18:40 local
Referee: Chris Pollock
Assistant Ref 1:Jamie Nutbrown
Assistant Ref 2:Federico Anselmi
TMO : Santiago Borsani



1- Santiago García Botta, 2- Agustín Creevy (C), 3- Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 4- Guido Petti, 5- Tomas Lavannini , 6- Pablo Matera, , 7-Juan M Leguizamon, 8-Leonardo Senatore 9- Martín Landajo, 10- Nicolás Sánchez, 11- Emiliano Boffelli, 12-Juan M. Hernandez, 13-Jeronimo de la Fuente , 14-Santiago Cordero , 15- Jaoquin Tuculet

Replacements : 16- Julián Montoya, 17-Roberto Tejerizo, 18-Felipe Arregui, 19-Matías Alemanno,, 20- Facundo Isa, 21-Felipe Ezcurra, 22- Santiago González Iglesias,, 23- Matías Moroni,


1. Mitchell Graham, 2. Hika Elliot, 3. Hiroshi Yamashita , 4. Michael Allardice , 5. Johan Bardoul , 6. Tom Sanders, 7. Sam Cane , co-captain 8. Michael Leitch , 9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 10. Aaron Cruden ,co-captain 11. James Lowe , 12. Charlie Ngatai , 13. Anton Lienert-Brown , 14. Sam McNicol , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements : 16. Rhys Marshall , 17. Pauliasi Manu , 18. Siate Tokolahi , 19. Taleni Seu, 20. Maama Vaipulu , 21. Brad Weber, 22. Seta Tamanivalu , 23. Glen Fisiiahi

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.