Super Rugby

Jaguares beat Bulls in Buenos Aires




The ninth and final Super Rugby match in Round 15 in in Buenos Aires where the Jaguares will host the South Africa’s Bulls.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

It’s raining and wet in Buenos Aires. The ball will be slippery.

1.00: The Jaguares kick off and the match is underway. The Bulls win an early penalty for not rolling away. They kick for touch and the line out.

2.00: The conditions are really poor. Thev Jaguares kick upfield and  SP Marais goes to collect the ball in the air but it slips through his fingers and he knocks on.

4.00: The Jaguares win the scrum and attack the Bulls in their 22. Martin Landajo snipes for the line and goes over but is held up.

5.00: The Jaguares win the scrum but keep the ball in. The scrum breaks up and the Bulls turn the ball over and Rudy Paige kicks for touch.

8.00: The Bulls win a penalty in front of the posts. Francois Brummer takes the kick and nails it. The Bulls lead.

9.00: Travis Ismael knocks on from the restart due to it being so wet. Jaguares scrum.

11.00: The Jaguares win the scrum and then a penalty. Sanchez will go for goal.

12.00: Sanchez nails the penalty and levels the scores.

13.00: The Jaguares attack the Bulls in their 22. They have a couple of attempts at the line and then they dive over next to the posts. The TMO is called in to review. It’s a try to Pablo Matera.

14.00: Sanchez adds the conversion.

17.00:: The Bulls win a scrum in the Jaguares 22 and they run the ball. The pass to Jamba Ulengo goes to ground. Knock on.

19.00; The Jaguares win the scrum and kick upfield. The Jaguares win the ball but take it straight into touch. The Jaguares steal the line out for a second time and then they win a penalty.

20.00: The Jaguares kick for touch. They win the line out and use the maul and it steamrolls its way to the line and crashes over after 22m! Creevy is the tryscorer.

22.00: Sanchez hooks the conversion.

24.00: The Jaguares test the Bulls under the high ball again, they chase the ball and it gets knocked into touch by the Jaguares.

26.00: The rain had eased off but it is now coming back. The Bulls win a line out and use the maul. There is a break in play as one of the Bulls players has gone down.

27.00: Burger Odendaal is down. He comes off for concussion test. Looks very groggy. The Bulls have a penalty and kick for touch. They win the line out but the Jaguares defend.

28.00: The Bulls win another penalty. “Taking up space on the side of the tackle” . They signal that they will go for posts.

29.00: Brummer misses the penalty from in front.

32.00: The Bulls win another penalty in front of the posts for not releasing. Brummer will have another shot.

33.00: Brummer takes the kick and nails it.

37.00: The Bulls go through the phases on attack. They get to 8 phases but then knock on.

38.00: Lizo Gqoboka has taken a knock so Pierre Schoeman moves to the loosehead position.

39.00: The Bulls (Paige) use the box kick at the back of a ruck. The ball goes out on the full.

40.00: The Jaguares throw the ball in for the line out but it is lost to ground.

It’s half time.

The half time score is Jaguares 15 Bulls 6

The Bulls restart the match and the second half is underway.

43.00: The Jaguares go wide and Sanchez attacks down the wing – he gets tackled and the ball is taken into touch.

44.00: The Jaguares chip the ball ahead and Manuel Montero chases with Travis Ismael get to the ball together. The TMO checks to see if a try was scored. It’s no try.

46.00: Penalty to the Jaguares, Sanchez takes the shot and nails it.

49.00: The Jaguares set up a line out. They win the line out but get trapped and the Bulls pile in. The Jaguares win a penalty for not rolling away. Sanchez kicks for touch.

51.00: The Bulls win a penalty for obstruction in their 22. The Bulls clear the ball into touch.

52.00: The conditions are really poor. It’s still pouring down. The Jaguares win another penalty.

53.00: Sanchez is injured so Landajo will have the shot at goal. He misses.

54.00: Another penalty to the Jaguares. They kick to the corner.  They win the line out and drive over the line and score. TRY! Creevy again.

55.00: Sanchez resumes the kicking duties. He almost gets it in the pouring rain from the side line. Missed.

59.00: The Bulls set up a maul of their own and drive over the line. Piet van Zyl appears to have scored. The TMO is called in. The try is awarded.

60.00: Brummer takes the conversion kick but he misses.

63.00: Penalty to the Jaguares for a high tackle. Sanchez signals he will kick for goal.

64.00: Sanchez slots the penalty.

67.00: Another penalty for the Jaguares. Sanchez takes the shot and nails it.

68.00: Another penalty for a high tackle to the Jaguares – Renaldo Bothma. The Bulls get a team warning.  The Jaguares kick for touch.

71.00: Penalty to the Bulls – not releasing. The Bulls can’t do anything with a quick tap so they are called back for not back 10m.

74.00: The Bulls have a scrum on the Jaguares 5m line. They win the scrum and go for the line but the Jaguares turn the ball over and kick it into touch.

75.00: Both teams have their full benches on. The Bulls have the ball and are going through the phases.

76.00: The Bulls go through 12 phases before the Jaguares turn the ball over and kick deep into Bulls territory.

77.00: The TMO is called in to review a grass cutter tackle a few minutes ago. A penalty is awarded to the Bulls who kick for touch.

78.00: The Bulls win another penalty so they kick for touch and the line out.

80.00: The siren sounds. The Jaguares win a scrum and clear the ball into touch.

The Jaguares have won.

The full time score is Jaguares 29 (15) Bulls 11 (6) 


Tries – P.Matera, A.Creevy 2
Pen -N.Sanchez 4
Con -N.Sanchez
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – P.Van Zyl.
Pen – F.Brummer 2
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant Ref 1:Federico Anselmi (Argentina),
Assistant Ref 2: Juan Sylvestre (Argentina)
TMO : Santiago Borsani (Argentina)



1. Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2. Agustín Creevy (cap), 3. Ramiro Herrera; 4. Guido Petti, 5. Tomás Lavanini; 6. Pablo Matera, 7. Juan M. Leguizamón, 8. Facundo Isa; 9. Martín Landajo, 10. Nicolás Sánchez, 11. Manuel Montero, 12. Jerónimo de la Fuente, 13. Matías Moroni, 14. Santiago Cordero; 15. Joaquín Tuculet.

Replacements : 16. Julián Montoya, 17. Santiago García Botta, 18. Enrique Pieretto, 19. Ignacio Larrague, 20. Javier Ortega Desio, 21. Gonzalo Bertranou, 22. Matías Orlando, 23. Lucas González Amorosino.


SP Marais, Travis Ismaiel, Jesse Kriel, Burger Odendaal, Jamba Ulengo, Francois Brummer, Rudy Paige, Arno Botha, Lappies Labuschagne (c), Roelof Smit, Marvin Orie, Jason Jenkins, Marcel van der Merwe, Bandise Maku, Lizo Gqoboka.

Replacements: Jaco Visagie, Pierre Schoeman, Jannes Kirsten, Renaldo Bothma, Piet van Zyl, Tian Schoeman, Dries Swanepoel,Werner Kruger


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.