Super Rugby

Stormers beat Jaguares in Buenos Aires



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


The final Super Rugby match on Saturday for Round 5 is in Buenos Aires where the Jaguares host South Africa’s Stormers.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Stormers kick off and we are underway.

2.00: The Stormers make a strong start to the match and put the Jaguares under pressure in their half. The pressure results in a penalty. Kurt Coleman will kick for posts.

3.00: Coleman takes the shot and nails it. The Stormers lead.

5.00: Penalty to the Stormers for playing the No.9. Coleman kicks for touch.

6.00: The Stormers are domination early possession and territory. They go through 8 phases and concede a penalty. There is a break in play as Nicolas Sanchez is injured. He gets back up, looks a little groggy but carries on.

10.00: The Jaguares kick deep but the ball goes straight out so we go back to the Jaguares 22.

11.00: Scrum penalty to the Jaguares. Sanchez kicks for touch.

12.00: The Jaguares win the line out and then another penalty. They take the quick tap but fail to make a lot of ground and then knock on.

14.00: Penalty to the Stormers. Coleman kicks for touch and the line out.

15.00: Penalty to the Stormers. Tomas Lavannini side entry. The Stormers kick for touch and the line out. They win the line out and work the ball to centrefield.

17.00: The whistle goes for a TMO check. Santiago García Botta gets a warning and the Stormers get a penalty. Coleman takes the shot, he nails it.

20.00: Penalty to the Jaguares. Sanchez takes the shot and nails it. The Jaguares are on the board.

21.00 Nicolas Sanchez is yellow carded for foul play.

22.00: The Stormers use the numbers and Cheslin Kolbe slips off a tackle, gets back up and dives over to score. TRY!

23.00: Coleman adds the conversion.

28.00: The Jaguares are getting more into the game.. They get the ball into the Stormers half and go through the phases on attack.

31.00: There is a break in play while a Stormers player gets some bandaging. The game will resume with a Jaguares 5m scrum.

32.00: The Stormers win a penalty from the scrum. Coleman kicks for touch to clear.

33.00: The Jaguares win the line out but they lose the ball forward. Stormers scrum.

34.00: Stormers penalty. Coleman kicks for touch and the line out.

36.00: The Stormers chip the ball ahead and Leolin Zas chases the ball showing real pace but he knocks the ball on. The Stormers initially win a penalty but it gets reversed for foul play. The Jaguares kick for touch. They win the line out but the Stormers turn the ball over.

38.00: The Jaguares set up a line out in the Stormers half.

40.00: The siren sounds for half time but we have time for the line out. The Jaguares slip through the Stormers defence and Jeronimo de la Fuente scores. TRY The TMO is called to check the grounding. The try is awarded.

41.00: Sanchez misses the conversion. Its half time.

The half time score was Jaguares 8 Stormers 13

The Stormers kick off and we are underway.

41.00: The Jaguares start aggressively. Tomas Lezana goes for the line but loses the ball as he gets to the line.

44.00: The Stormers run the ball but the pass is poor and it goes into touch.

45.00: The Jaguares win the line out. Landajo breaks in centrefield. He is caught but the Jaguares continue to build the attack.

48.00: The scrums eat up time as they battle to complete. The Stormers put the ball in and they kick upfield.

50.00; The Jaguares kick the ball back and Kolbe kicks it into touch.

52.00: The Jaguares pass the ball but the ball is lost forward.

53.00: Lots of kicking in the game. Both sides. The Jaguares run the ball back from deep and win a penalty for a high tackle.

55.00: The Stormers have changed their front row. The Jaguares try to attack in the Stormers half but the Stormers turn the ball over. They kick and the Jaguares counter attack.

58.00: Jaguares going through the phases on attack in the Stormers half. 10 phases. They lose the ball and the Stormers try to counter attack but they knock on.

61.00: Penalty to the Jaguares. Sanchez takes the kick but misses.

63.00: Penalty to the Stormers. Coleman kicks for touch. The Jaguares win the line out but they go through three phases and lose the ball. The Stormers kick the ball out on the full.

67.00: The Stormers kick for touch and find it deep in Jaguares territory. The Jaguares will have a line out in their 22.

72.00: Penalty to the Jagaures. Santiago González Iglesias takes the kick but misses.

77.00: Penalty to the Jaguares. Lucas Amorosino kicks for touch and finds it in the corner. Etzebeth snatches the line out and Du Plessis kicks for touch.

78.00: The Jaguares take the quick line out and run at the Stormers.

79.00: The Jaguares get pushed into touch ending their attack. Kolbe is down injured. Kolbe gets back up. The Stormers have a line out. They throw the ball in and the siren sounds.

The Stormers have won.

The full time score Jaguares 8 (8) Stormers 13 (13)


Tries -J, de la Fuente
Pen – N.Sanchez
Con –
Drop –
Cards – N.Sanchez (21st min yellow)

Tries – C.Kolbe
Pen – K.Coleman 2
Con – K.Coleman
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Chris Pollock
Assistant Ref 1:Jamie Nutbrown
Assistant Ref 2:Federico Anselmi
TMO : Santiago Borasni



1- Santiago García Botta, 2- Agustín Creevy (C), 3-Felipe Arregui , 4-Matías Alemanno, 5- Tomas Lavannini , 6- Pablo Matera, 7-Tomas Lezana, 8-Leonardo Senatore 9- Martín Landajo, 10- Nicolás Sánchez, 11-Lucas Amarosino 12-Jeronimo de la Fuente, 13- Matías Moroni , 14-Matias Orlando, 15- Jaoquin Tuculet

Replacements : 16- Julián Montoya, 17-Roberto Tejerizo, 18-Enrique Pieretto, 19-Guido Petti, 20- Facundo Isa, 21-Gonzalo Bertranou, 22- Santiago González Iglesias, 23- Santiago Cordero


15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Juan de Jongh (co-captain), 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Kurt Coleman, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe (co-captain), 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.

Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Jan de Klerk, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 23 Huw Jones.


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.