Super Rugby

Jaguares beat Sunwolves in Buenos Aires




The final match for Super Rugby Round 11 is in Buenos Aires Argentina where the Jaguares host Japan’s Sunwolves.

These teams have only played each other once and that match was last year in Tokyo. The Sunwolves won the match 36-28 so the Jaguares will be hungry for a victory this weekend.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

The Sunwolves kick off and the match is underway.

2.00: The Sunwolves attack from deep in their half. They move the ball out to the wing and Will Tupou gets the ball and cuts inside and runs for the line to score. TRY!

3.00: Yu Tamura adds the conversion. Sunwolves lead.

6.00: Penalty to the Sunwolves.  Juan Martín Hernández takes the kick and nails it.

8.00: The Jaguares win a line out and work the ball to the 5m line. Leonardo Senatore gets the ball and dives and stretches for the line and scores. TRY!

9.00: Hernandez adds the conversion.

13.00: The Jaguares win a scrum in their half. They run the ball down the wing and into the Sunwolves 22. The Sunwolves turn the ball over and Tamura boots it into touch.

17.00: The Sunwolves spread the ball across the field. Willie Britz gets through a gap and offloads to Shota Emi who scores. Sunwolves back in front. TRY!

18.00: Tamura misses the conversion.

22.00: Penalty almost in front to the Sunwolves. Tamura lines up the kick and nails it.

24.00: The Jaguares hit back with a try in the corner. Emiliano Boffelli races for the corners and just beats the touchline. The TMO check and the TRY! is awarded.

26.00: Hernandez misses the conversion. Scores are level.

29.00: Penalty to the Sunwolves. Tamura takes the kick and nails it. Sunwolves lead again.

34.00: The Jaguares go through the phases on attack. Gradually making ground. Sam Wykes is down but they play on until the ball is knocked on.

37.00: The Sunwolves – Yu Tamuara – picks up a loose ball from a Jaguares knock on and he races for the line and scores the TRY without being touched.

38.00: Tamura adds the conversion. That is the most points the Sunwolves have ever scored in an opening half.

41.00: The Jaguares drive for the corner but get shoved into touch. They are however called back for a penalty.

42.00: The Jaguares kick for touch and take the line out again. The Jaguares win the line out. They set up the maul and drive for the line. Penalty TRY! to the Jaguares and a yellow card for Sam Wykes. It’s an automatic 7 points these days for a penalty try so that ends the half.

The half time score was Jaguares 22 Sunwolves 25

The Jaguares kick off and the second half is underway.

43.00: The Jaguares keep the ball moving through the hands using the extra man and they get to the Sunwolves tryline. The Sunwolves hold out the Jaguares and win a penalt.

44.00: The Sunwolves clear the ball into touch with the penalty.

48.00: Jaguares work the ball back into the Sunwolves half. After 8 phases they get into the Sunwolves 22.

49.00: The Jaguares get through the Sunwolves defence but then lose the ball with the tryline open and the Sunwolves secure the ball and send it upfield.

51.00: The Jaguares work the ball to the Sunwolves tryline. They use the maul and Agustin Creevy goes over and scores. TRY!

52.00:Hernandez takes the conversion kick but misses.

54.00: The Sunwolve hit back straight away. They move the ball wide and Britz pops the ball to Tamura who runs in his second TRY!

55.00: Tamura takes the conversion kick and nails it. Tamura has now scored 22 points which is the biggest tally ever for a Sunwolves player in a match.

58.00:The Sunwolves work the ball to the Jaguares tryline. Wykes goes for the line and crashes over for the Sunwolves fifth TRY!

60.00: Tamura adds another two points for the conversion.

63.00: The Sunwolves almost get away again but they are called back for a forward pass.

65.00: Penalty to the Jaguares. They tap and run it. The Jaguares get the ball to the Sunwolves 5m line. They look like they are changing sides but Matías Alemanno races through and crashes over. TRY!

66.00; Hernandez adds the conversion.

70.00: Jaguares upping the intensity now. They attack the Sunwolves and earn another penalty in front. The Jaguares choose the line out and kick to the 5m line.

71.00: The Jaguares win the line out and use the maul to drive over the line. Creevy is awarded his second TRY! The scores are level.

72.00: The conversion is missed.

74.00: The Jaguares slice through the Sunwolves defence at pace and Matias Moroni scores. TRY!

75.00: Joaquin Dias Bonilla adds the conversion. Jaguares lead.

78.00: The Sunwolves have the ball inside the Jaguares half. They go through 9 phases on attack gradually making ground.

79.00: Penalty to the Sunwolves in front. The Sunwolves tap and run the ball and then knock on.

79.29: The ref blows his whistle for full time. But wait. He calls everyone back as he thought he had heard the hooter but it wasnt the official hooter. Jaguares have a scrum.

81.00: The  balll goes into the scrum after a couple of resets and the Jaguares win a penalty. The Jaguares boot the ball into touch.

Thats it. The Jaguares have won.

Live In-Play Betting.

The full time score is Jaguares 46 (22) Sunwolves 39 (25) 


Tries – L. Senatore, E.Boffelli, Penalty, A Creevy 2, M.Alemanno,M.Moroni
Pen – J.M.Hernández
Con – J.M.Hernández 2, Penalty Con, J.D.Bonilla
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – W.Tupou, S.Emi, Y. Tamura 2, S.Wykes
Pen – Y.Tamura
Con – Y.Tamura 4
Drop –
Cards – S.Wykes (42nd min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Ref 1:Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 2:Damian Schneider
TMO : Santiago Borsani



15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Santiago González Iglesias, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Juan Martín Hernández, 9 Felipe Ezcurra, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Rodrigo Baez, 6 Tomás Lezana, 5 Marcos Kremer, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy, 1 Santiago Garcia Botta

Replacements: 16 Roberto Tejerizo, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Enrique Pieretto Heilan, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 21 Martín Landajo, 22 Joaquin Dias Bonilla, 23 Matias Moroni


15 Kotaro Matsushima, 14 Shota Emi, 13 Will Tupou, 12 Timothy Lafaele, 11 Kenki Fukuoka, 10 Yu Tamura, 9 Yuki Yatomi, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Shunsuke Nunomaki, 6 Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco, 5 Uwe Helu, 4 Sam Wykes, 3 Yasuo Yamaji, 2 Yusuke Niwai, 1 Koki Yamamoto

Replacements: 16 Takeshi Hino, 17 Keita Inagaki, 18 Takuma Asahara, 19 Shinya Makabe, 20 Ed Quirk, 21 Keisuke Uchida, 22 Jumpei Ogura, 23 Ryohei Yamanaka

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.