Super Rugby

Jaguares beat Waratahs in Buenos Aires




The final Super Rugby match of the fourth round is in Buenos Aires Argentina where the Jaguares host the Waratahs.

The Jaguares and Waratahs have only met once before in Super Rugby and that match was played in Sydney and won 27-40 by the Jaguares.

  • The Jaguares ran out to a 40-27 win in their only previous encounter with the Waratahs.
  • The Jaguares have lost their last four games in a row at home; they had previously never lost more than two games in a row on home turf.
  • The Waratahs are winless in their last seven games outside Australia, failing to pick up a single competition point in five of those matches.
  • The Jaguares have missed 109 tackles in just three games so far this campaign, more than any other team.
  • Michael Hooper has crossed for a try in each of his two games for the Waratahs this season and has missed just three of 25 tackle attempts in that time.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

1.00: PEEEEP! We are underway in Buenos Aires.

2.00: TRY! Emiliano Boffelli gives the Argentines a great start. 5-0

3.00: CONVERSION! Nicolas Sanchez adds the extras.

7.00: The Jaguares are on the charge. Creevy takes the ball to the Waratahs’ 22.

10.00: Lineout to the home team inside the Tahs’ half.

11.00: TRY! Bofelli is in for his second. The winger stepped two defenders and cuts back to score. 12-0

12.00: CONVERSION! Sanchez slots the sideline kick. 14-0

14.00: The Jaguares defence is holding firm.

16.00: TRY! Joaquin Tuculet runs a brilliant angle and races away from Curtis Rona to score under the sticks. 19-0

17.00: Sanchez can’t miss from in front. 21-0

19.00: TRY! Sanchez is over for the Jaguares’ fourth try inside the opening quarter. 26-0

20.00: MISS! The Pumas’ flyhalf can’t add the extras. 26-0

24.00: Sanchez knocks on. Scrum to the Aussies.

28.00: From another lineout, the Waratahs lose the ball forward.

30.00: The game has become a bit scrappy with lots of handling errors.

31.00: Agustin Creevy almost makes the steal. The Tahs win the penalty and kick to the corner.

32.00: From the lineout, the Waratahs attack inside the Jaguares’ 22, but again, lose the ball forward in contact.

33.00: OUCH! A massive hit from Michael Wells on Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias. Scrum to the Waratahs.

35.00: TRY! Jed Holloway picks up at the base of the ruck, looks up, sees a huge gap and speeds away to score under the posts. 26-5

36.00: CONVERSION! Bernard Foley adds the extras. 26-7

39.00: The Waratahs have one lost attack before the break.

40.00: TRY! Bautista Delguy intercepts Foley’s pass and races away to score under the posts. Wow! 31-7

41.00: CONVERSION! Sanchez slots the easy conversion. 33-7

The half-time score was Jaguares 33 Waratahs 7

41.00: PEEEEP! We are back underway in Argentina. 

45.00: The Waratahs retain possession after multiple phases. Eventually, they earn the penalty near halfway.

46.00: Foley can’t find touch and Tuculet gathers and clears.

47.00: TRY! Curtis Rona scores after some wonderful interplay between Israel Folau, Jake Gordon and Rona. 33-12

48.00: CONVERSION! Foley continues his run of not missing a kick in 2018. 33-14

50.00: The Jaguares go down the field, but lose the ball near the Waratahs’ goal-line.

52.00: A 15-phase move ends with another knock on in contact. The Tahs are being asked to make a lot of tackles early in the second-half.

54.00: The pressure is relentless by the Jaguares, who win the penalty and kick to the corner.

55.00: Good defence by the visitors. Sanchez switched play but was hit hard in the tackle. Gonzalo Bertranou lost the ball in contact. Scrum to the Waratahs.

57.00: Kalivati Tawake is pinged at the scrum. Pablo Matera calls for a shot at goal.

58.00: MISS! Sanchez misses wide; it was the strong breeze that picked the ball up and pushed it wide. 33-7

60.00: Felipe Ezcurra wins the turnover after Gordon’s quick tap-and-go.

62.00: Waratahs get the lineout throw after Bryce Hegarty’s little grubber.

63.00: Michael Hooper is fuming! he remonstrates with the referee over the truck-and-trailer call which halted the Tahs’ driving maul.

65.00: Nick Palmer loses the ball forward in contact. The Waratahs need patience if they are to get back in this game.

68.00: Sebastian Cancelliere bursts away from Hegarty, fending him off twice. He dived before the line, under pressure from Miller, and lost the ball over the goal-line. That would have ended the game as a contest.

69.00: HUGE scrum! The Jaguares dismantled the Waratahs set-piece and scuffles break out.

70.00: Creevy wants another scrum.

72.00: More scuffles breaking out after another break in play.

73.00: TRY! Matias Orlando crosses in the corner. Folau rushed out the line and the centre is away for his team’s fifth try of the game. 38-14

74.00: MISS! Joaquin Diaz Bonilla can’t add the extras. 38-14

78.00: Gordon goes close. The ball is sent wide. The Tahs have a penalty advantage.

79.00: TRY! Nick Palmer is over for a consolation. 38-19

80.00: CONVERSION! Foley drop-kicks the conversion. 

81.00: TRY! Hegarty puts boot to ball and Folau beats Boffelli to score. 38-26

82.00: CONVERSION! Foley adds his fourth. 38-28


In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

To refresh this page click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Jaguares 38 (33) Waratahs 28 (7)


Tries – Boffelli (2), Tuculet, Sanchez, Delguy, Orlando
Pen –
Con – Sanchez (4)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Holloway, Rona, Palmer, Folau
Pen –
Con – Foley (4)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 1: Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 2: Pablo Deluca
TMO: Santiago Borsani



15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Pablo Matera (captain), 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Matias Alemanno, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Felipe Arregui.

Replacements: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Santiago Garcia Botta, 18 Juan Pablo Zeiss, 19 Guido Petti Pagadizaval, 20 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 21 Felipe Ezcurra, 22 Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, 23 Sebastian Cancelliere.


15 Israel Folau, 14 Alex Newsome, 13 Lalakai Foketi, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Curtis Rona, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Jake Gordon, 8 Jed Holloway, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Michael Wells, 5 Tom Staniforth, 4 Ned Hanigan, 3 Paddy Ryan, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Tom Robertson.

Replacements: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 18 Kalivati Tawake, 19 Nick Palmer, 20 Will Miller, 21 Nick Duffy, 22 Bryce Hegarty, 23 Taqele Naiyaravoro.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.