Jamie Mackintosh receives Highlanders top award



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Highlanders prop Jamie Mackintosh received the Highlanders ‘Player’s Player of the Year’ award last night at the Highlanders inaugural prize giving held at Carisbrook.


Players were judged on their performance throughout the season.

Fetu’u Vainikolo was rewarded for his first season in the Rebel Sport Super 14 collecting the ‘Top Try Scorer’ award. He scored 6 tries over the season. He also picked up the ‘Iron Man’ award for playing the most minutes of rugby during the season (1020mins).

Adam Thomson collected the ‘Rookie of the Year’ award. Fetu’u Vainikolo and Clint Newland were the other two nominees.

Paul Williams won ‘Back of the Year’ ahead of Johnny Leota and Vainikolo.

Jamie Mackintosh took out ‘Forward of the Year’ ahead of Adam Thomson and Craig Newby along with the Speight’s ‘Good on ya mate’ award which was presented to the player who shared all the values of what the Speight’s brand stands for.

Highlanders Awards 2008 summary:

Top Try Scorer Fetu’u Vainikolo (6 tries)
Iron Man Award Fetu’u Vainikolo (1020mins)
Rookie of the Year Adam Thomson
Back of the Year Paul Williams
Forward of the Year Jamie Mackintosh
Players Player of the Year Jamie Mackintosh
Speight’s ‘Good on ya mate’ award Jamie Mackintosh



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.