Currie Cup

Jantjies one of eleven Lions Currie Cup changes




Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


The Golden Lions have made eleven changes to their team to face Western Province in the Currie Cup Semi-final in Johannesburg.

The match will also serve as Cobus Grobbelaar’s benefit match ahead of his retirement from playing rugby.

Skipper JC Janse van Rensburg returns at loosehead prop in place of CJ van der Linde, Jacobie Adriaanse replaces Pat Cilliers at tighthead prop.

Lock Franco van der Merwe returns to the starting line-up ahead of Paul Willemse and Cobus Grobbelaar replaces Jaco Kriel at blindside flank, while Kriel shifts to openside flank, replacing Derick Minnie.

At the back of the scrum, Warren Whiteley is preferred ahead of Willie Britz.

In the backline, Michael Bondesio starts at scrum half in place of Ross Cronje, Elton Jantjies replaces Butch James at flyhalf with James moving to the bench, Springbok Jaco Taute starts in place of Deon van Rensburg at outside centre, while Ruan Combrinck shifts from fullback to right wing, replacing Deon Helberg in the process.

Andries Coetzee starts at fullback.

Lions team:

Andries Coetzee, Ruan Combrinck, Jaco Taute, Alwyn Hollenbach/ Dylan des Fountain, Anthony Volmink, Elton Jantjies, Michael Bondesio, Warren Whiteley, Jaco Kriel, Cobus Grobbelaar, Franco van der Merwe, Michael Rhodes, Jacobie Adriaanse, Callie Visagie, JC Janse van Rensburg (captain).

Replacements: Bandise Maku, CJ van der Linde/Pat Cilliers, Hendrik Roodt, Derick Minnie, Ross Cronje, Butch James, Deon Helberg.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.