Super Rugby

Joseph tinkers with Highlanders line up for Chiefs




Highlanders head coach Jamie Joseph has named his Super Rugby team to play the Chiefs in potential NZ conference deciding Super Rugby match in Dunedin.

Joseph has named a team with a fresh prop, lock and a midfield reshuffle for the Chiefs on Saturday.

Daniel Lienert-Brown and Alex Ainley both return to the starting team after recovering from injury.

Josh Hohneck moves to the bench and is joined by Liam Coltman who has recovered from a length break to provide cover on the bench.

Malakai Fekitoa returns to second five-eight and reunites with Matt Faddes at centre to reform what was a very effective midfield combination prior to the June break.

Jamie Joseph has also gone for a 6 forward 2 back split on the bench highlighting perhaps that the anticipated fast pace of the game will require regular fresh legs to be injected into the match.

The crucial last round match has attracted a sell-out crowd of 22,500.


1. Daniel Lienert-Brown , 2. Ash Dixon , 3. Siosuia Halanukonuka , 4. Tom Franklin , 5. Alex Ainley , 6. Elliot Dixon , 7. James Lentjes , 8. Luke Whitelock , 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Lima Sopoaga , 11. Patrick Osborne , 12. Malakai Fekitoa , 13. Matt Faddes , 14. Waisake Naholo , 15. Ben Smith (C)

Replacements : 16. Liam Coltman , 17. Aki Seiuli , 18. Josh Hohneck , 19. Mark Reddish , 20. Liam Squire , 21. Dan Pryor , 22. Te Aihe Toma , 23. Fletcher Smith

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.