Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Kings captain Watson ruled out of Stormers clash

The Southern Kings have named their team to face the Stormers in Cape Town with Luke Watson missing the game due to flu.

The Kings management delayed the announcement of their team for the game until
Thursday, which allowed star flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis time to recover from
a leg injury. Watson, however, will sit this one out.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

“Luke has flu and is not great,” said Kings director of rugby Alan

“He hasn’t been able to practice and on medical advice he will not be

Watson’s spot in the loose forward trio will be taken by Jacques Engelbrecht,
with Devin Oosthuizen moving to the bench.

Injuries have resulted in two other changes to the side, with wing Siyanda
Grey and experienced lock Steven Sykes sidelined for several weeks.

Young wing Siviwe Soyiwapi fills Grey’s spot while veteran lock Darron Nell
should prove a useful replacement for Sykes.

In a rotational move, the Kings have decided to give Argentine scrumhalf Nicolas
Vergallo a start, with regular number nine Shaun Venter moving to the bench.

With wet weather set to hit Cape Town this weekend, Solomons predicted a tough
forward battle.

“I have lived in Cape Town and when you get a series of fronts it can
get really bad, so I think the Stormers will be concentrating on a solid kicking
game and play for territory.”

Solomons felt the tactical kicking duel would be a major factor in the match.

“We have worked hard on our kicking game and up front it will be critical
for our pack to front up. I have no doubt they will,” he said.

“Most of them have played together in many games this season and we have
every confidence they will be up for the challenge.”

Southern Kings

15. SP Marais , 14. Siviwe Soyizwapi ,, 13. Ronnie Cooke , 12. Andries Strauss
(Captain), 11. Marcello Sampson , 10. Demetri Catrakilis , 9. Nicolas Vergallo
, 8. Jacques Engelbrecht , 7. Wimpie van der Walt, 6. Cornell du Preez, 5. David
Bulbring , 4. Darron Nell (Vice Captain) , 3. Kevin Buys , 2. Bandise Maku ,
1. Schalk Ferreira

Replacements : 16. Hannes Franklin , 17. Grant Kemp , 18. Rynier Bernado ,
19. Devin Oosthuizen , 20. Shaun Venter , 21. Shane Gates , 22. George Whitehead

Exit mobile version