Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Kings make four changes for Highlanders

Malcolm Jaer returns from injury for the Southern Kings

Malcolm Jaer returns from injury for the Southern Kings

Southern Kings head coach Deon Davids has named a Super Rugby side with four changes for this Saturday’s match against the Highlanders at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium.

Most notable among the changes is the inclusion of CJ Velleman at left flank and Malcolm Jaer, at fullback, both of whom have returned from injury.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Jaer replaces Jurgen Visser who is still recovering from a concussion sustained during the game against the Jaguares.

Stefan Willemse then shifts from left to right flank, to cover for Thembelani Bholi, who is out for the rest of the Super Rugby season after a knee operation during the June break.

Davids also brought Tom Botha up from the bench to start at Tighthead Prop in place of Jacobie Adriaanse, who is out with a calf strain.

Davids once again rotated flyhalves, with Elgar Watts getting a start while Louis Fouche moves to the bench. , Other changes to the bench include Sti Sithole and Luzuko Vulindlu.

Davids said he was glad to have both Velleman and Jaer back, as both players were itching to get back onto the field of play.

“This is our last home game of the season and we really want to go out there and give our all,” he said.

Davids said the last block had always been identified as a tough leg of the competition, but the team was looking forward to playing the last three matches.

“This is a special group of players, who play for each other and for the jersey week in and week out,” he said.

Southern Kings

15. Malcolm Jaer , 14. Lukhanyo Am , 13. Stefan Watermeyer , 12. Shane Gates (VC) , 11. Wandile Mjekevu , 10. Elgar Watts , 09. Ntando Kebe , 08. Aidon Davis , 07. Stefan Willemse , 06. CJ Velleman , 05. JC Astle , 04. Steven Sykes (C) , 03. Tom Botha , 02. Edgar Marutlulle , 01. Schalk Ferreira

Replacements : 16. Martin Bezuidenhout , 17. Sti Sithole , 18. Justin Ackerman , 19. Schalk Oelofse , 20. Jacques Engelbrecht , 21. Kevin Luiters , 22. Louis Fouche , 23. Luzuko Vulindlu

Exit mobile version