Super Rugby

Blues beat Kings in Port Elizabeth




The final Super Rugby match in Round 11 is in Port Elizabeth where the Southern Kings and the Blues will play for the first time.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

The Blues kick off and the match is underway.

1.00: The Blues dominate opening minute of the match but they concede a penalty. The Kings kick for touch.

2.00: The Kings win another penalty. Elgar Watts signals they will kick for posts.

3.00: Watts takes the kick and nails it. The Kings lead.

7.00; Penalty to the Blues. Instead of going to posts they choose the line out. West kicks for touch.

8.00: The Blues win the line out and use the maul. They drive over the line and the Kings hardly slow them at all. TRY! James Parsons.

10.00: West lines up the conversion kick but he misses. Blues lead.

12.00: The Blues attack the Kings but the Kings push them wide and into touch.

13.00: The Kings win the line out and attack in the Blues 22. They send wave after wave of attack at the Blues and James Hall gets the ball down at the base of the post for a TRY!

14.00: Watts takes the conversion kick and nails it. Kings lead again.

18.00: The Blues set up their attack in the Kings 22. They drive to the line but can’t get the shove over the line.

20.00: The Blues go to the backs and kick wide but Jurgen Visser gets to the ball and it goes into touch. Blues line out.

21.00: The Blues knock on at the line out.

22.00: The Blues get the ball on the half way line and run it at the Kings. The Blues win a penalty for offside. They kick to the corner.

24.00: The Blues win the line out and Melani Nanai slices through the Kings and races for the line and scores. TRY!

25.00: West adds the conversion. Blues lead again.

28.00: The Blues go through the phases building up their attack after a line out. Nanai slips off one tackle and races in for his second TRY!

29.00:West nails the conversion from in front.

34.00: Penalty to the Southern Kings for not releasing the ball. Watts kicks for touch.

36.00: The TMO is called in to review some potential foul play. The Blues get a penalty. They kick for touch.

37.00; The Kings win the line out and run the ball out to the wing but the ball is lost into touch.

39.00: The Blues win a penalty from the line out – interference. They kick for touch and set up the line out. The Blues attack but the Kings turn the ball over. The ball is kicked into touch.

40.00:The siren sounds for half time and the whistle follows.

Its half time.

The half time score is Kings 10 Blues 19

The Kings kick off and the second half is underway.

42.00: Penalty to the Blues. Ihaia West lines up the kick. He takes the kick and nails it.

45.00: The Blues pass the ball down the line in attack but George Moala’s pass is forward. Kings scrum.

46.00: The Kings win the scrum and attack. They show good continuity as the go through the phases pressing the Blues back into their 22.

47.00: The Kings almost get to the 5m line and they win a penalty. Watts kicks for touch to set up a 5m line out.

49.00: The Kings win the line out and attack the Blues on their 5m line. The Blues turn the ball over and they kick it into touch.

50.00: Frustration boils over for the Kings and some pushing and shoving starts. The Kings are awarded a penalty. The two captains get a talking to.

52.00: The Kings work the ball up to the Blues tryline but they cannot get the ball down over the line. Kings scrum 5m out.

53.00: The Kings win the scrum and Edgar Marutlulle slips over and scores. TRY!

55.00: Watts takes the conversion. He misses.

59.00:Penalty to the Southern Kings. Jurgen Visser takes the kick from the half way line. He nails it.

64.00: The Blues kick for territory. Visser chases but the ball goes into touch.

66.00: Penalty to the Blues in front of the posts. They choose to kick for touch and take the line out.

67.00 The Blues win the line out and they pick and go. Charlie Faumuina gets close but is stopped short. The Blues recycle and continue the attack. The Kings turn the ball over (Chris Cloete). Kings 5m scrum.

69.00: The Blues strike as Billy Guyton snipes from the scrum and dives under the posts to score. TRY!

70.00: West adds the conversion.

73.00: The Blues get pressed back into their half. West clears the ball for touch but misses. The Kings counter but they concede a penalty.

74.00: West clears the ball into touch.

76.00: The Kings knock the ball on at the line out trying to steal the ball from Steven Lutua. Blues scrum.

78.00: The Blues move the ball down the line but the Kings get up quickly and force the Blues into making a mistake as they knock on.

80.00:The siren sounds. The assistant referee comes in to report hands in the scrum. The result is that the Kings go back for a penalty. This creates much confusion with the players.

81.00: Kings kick for touch and find it on the half way line.  The Kings win the line out and run at the Blues.

83.00: The Blues win a penalty so they tap it and run.

84.00: The Blues gradually make ground. Tevita Li cuts through the Kings with pace and scores. TRY! Bonus point.

85.00: The conversion is missed. That is it.

The Blues have won.

The full time score is Kings 18 (10) Blues 34 (19)


Tries – J.Hall, E.Marutlulle
Pen – E.Watts, J.Visser
Con – E.Watts
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – J.Parsons, M.Nanai 2, B.Guyton, T.Li
Pen – I.West
Con – I.West 3
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Federico Anselmi
Assistant Ref 1:Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant Ref 2:Archie Sehlako
TMO :Christie du Preez



15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Lukhanyo Am, 13 Stefan Watermeyer, 12 Shane Gates, 11 Luzuko Vulindlu, 10 Elgar Watts, 9 James Hall, 8 Cyril-John Velleman, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Chris Cloete, 5 John-Charles Astle, 4 Steven Sykes (captain), 3 Tom Botha, 2 Edgar Marutlulle, 1 Sithembiso Sithole

Replacements: 16 Martin Ferreira, 17 Justin Ackerman, 18 Jacobie Adriaanse, 19 Schalk Oelofse, 20 Stefan Willemse, 21 Ntando Kebe, 22 Louis Fouche, 23 Leighton Ekstee


Sam Prattley, James Parsons (c), Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Patrick Tuipulotu, Josh Bekhuis, Jerome Kaino, Tanerau Latimer, Steven Luatua; Bryn Hall, Ihaia West, Tevita Li, Piers Francis, George Moala, Melani Nanai, Lolagi Visinia.

Replacements : Matt Moulds, Nic Mayhew, Charlie Faumuina, Hoani Matenga, Kara Pryor, Billy Guyton, Matt McGahan, Male Sa’u.


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.