Latimer is the new big Chief




Openside flank Tanerau Latimer will earn his first start for the Chiefs when they take on the struggling Stormers in a Super 14 Round Three match at Newlands in Cape Town on Friday.

Latimer, 20, will start in the number seven jersey for the Chiefs, with stalwart Marty Holah named on the replacement bench.

Chiefs coach Ian Foster said Latimer has a great attitude, is a hard trainer and it is timely he gets a starting role.

“We have been happy with Marty Holah’s performance in the first two games. But it is time to give Tanerau a start as just reward for his good performances off the bench for the Chiefs recently,” Foster said.

The starting loose forward trio for the Chiefs on Friday is Steven Bates at blindside flank (number six), Latimer on the openside and Liam Messam at number eight.

Bates takes over the captaincy role for the Chiefs in South Africa, while Jono Gibbes stays at home to recover from a calf tear.

In the front row, tighthead prop Ben Castle will get his first cap for the Chiefs this season. The 27-year-old returns to the Chiefs for his fourth season and has 21 Super rugby caps to his name.

“Ben is the last of the front rowers to get game time for us. He is an experienced campaigner and is jumping out of his skin to get a run on this weekend,” Foster said.

Castle will line up alongside Tom Willis at hooker and Simms Davison at loosehead prop.

In the backs, Jamie Nutbrown gets the nod ahead of Brendon Leonard at scrum-half.

“We felt Jamie didn’t get a fair crack at his game in our first match against the Brumbies. He is an experienced player at this level and this weekend is a chance to give Jamie an opportunity to show his form with the team having more shape to its game.”

Foster says the seven-day turnaround between games, as well as extensive travel, have seen changes to the Chiefs line up

“We want to bring freshness to the team.”

Chiefs: 15 Dwayne Sweeney, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Niva Ta’auso, 12 Tane Tu’ipulotu, 11 Roy Kinikinilau, 10 Stephen Donald, 9 Jamie Nutbrown, 8 Liam Messam, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Steven Bates (c), 5 Toby Lynn, 4 Kristian Ormsby, 3 Ben Castle, 2 Tom Willis, 1 Simms Davison.
Replacements: 16 Aled de Malmanche, 17 Nathan White, 18 Andrew van der Heidjen, 19 Marty Holah, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Murray Williams, 22 Anthony Tahana

Date: Friday, 16 February
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-off: 18.30 (16.30 GMT)
Referee: Paul Marks (Australia)
Touch judges: Brett Bowden (Australia), Willie Roos (South Africa)
Television match official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)

365 Digital

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.