Super Rugby

Lienert-Brown starts as Chiefs change two for Rebels




Chiefs coach Dave Rennie has named his Super Rugby team to play the Rebels at Stadium Waikato and made two changes to the side that lost to the Highlanders.

The Chiefs had a bye last week and in their last outing they lost to the Highlanders and are determined to right the wrongs from their last performance

Hooker Nathan Harris earns his first start of the 2016 Super Rugby season, with Hika Elliot moving to the replacements.

Anton Lienert-Brown gets a chance to impress at second five-eighth after Charlie Ngatai was ruled out with concussion.

There are three changes to the replacements with Siegfried Fisi’ihoi coming onto the bench in jersey 18, along with Tom Sanders who returns from injury to provide loose forward cover. Experienced campaigner Andrew Horrell bolsters the backline stocks wearing jersey 22.

The Chiefs have promised that supporters can expect an impassioned, physical display of quality rugby as these trans-Tasman rivals go head-to-head in the Chiefs final round robin home game on New Zealand soil.

Nepo Laulala, Mitchell Karpik, Augustine Pulu, Johan Bardoul, Pauliasi Manu, Sam Henwood, Tevita Koloamatangi, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Atu Moli, Glen Fisiiahi, Charlie Ngatai, Sam McNicol and Latu Vaeno were all not considered for selection.


1. Mitchell Graham , 2. Nathan Harris , 3. Hiroshi Yamashita , 4. Dominic Bird , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Taleni Seu , 7. Sam Cane, (cc) , 8. Michael Leitch , 9. Brad Weber , 10. Aaron Cruden (cc) , 11. James Lowe , 12. Anton Lienert-Brown , 13. Seta Tamanivalu , 14. Toni Pulu , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacements : , 16. Hika Elliot , 17. Kane Hames , 18. Siegfried Fisi’ihoi , 19. Michael Allardice , 20. Tom Sanders , 21. Kayne Hammington , 22. Andrew Horrell , 23. Sam Vaka

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.