Lions beat the Reds in Brisbane




This was a live match report.


The Lions have travelled to Brisbane and they have an historic opportunity to notch up a third ever win in Australia when they take on a rather thin Reds outfit.


The Lions started well taking a 6-3 lead after 10 minutes. The Reds struck back with a try by Cooper the flyhalf.  Schifcofske converted.


The Reds kept the momentum going and it paid off. Will Genia broke through three tackles to score the Reds second try. Schifcofske again converted.


With 5 minutes to go the Lions were awarded a penalty and Rose put it between the posts for bring the Lions to within eight. Then  two minutes later the Reds gave away another kickable penalty and Earl Rose again reduced the points difference with a penalty.


The second half started off a little slower with no difference in the score for the first 15 minutes of the half.


Then Jaque Fourie scored a try millimetres from the dead ball line from a Pretorius grubber. Rose converted to put the Lions back into the lead.


With 20 minutes to go Schifcofske slotted a penalty to put the Reds back into the lead again.


At 63.48 Andrew Walker came back to Super Rugby as he ran on to the field.


5 minutes after Walker came on he made a break and the crowd went nuts. Unfortunately he ran straight for Earl Rose who took him down.


Just as the clock showed 5 minutes to go the Lions scored a crucial try as Ernst Joubert crossed the line. Rose converted to put the Lions 6 points ahead.


Report to follow.


Full time score Reds 20 – Lions 26





Try – Cooper, Genia
Penalty – Schifcofske
Conversion – Schifcofske (3)



Try – Fourie,Ernst Joubert
Penalty – Rose (4)
Conversion – Rose (2)


Reds: 15 Clinton Schifcofske, 14 Henari Veratau. 13 Ben Tune, 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Brando Va’alu, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Nic Berry, 8 John Roe (c), 7 David Croft, 6 Mitch Chapman, 5 James Horwill, 4 Ed O’Donoghue, 3 Rodney Blake, 2 Sean Hardman, 1 Ben Coutts
Replacements: 16 Ole Avei, 17 Herman Hunt, 18 Cam Treloar, 19 Tom McVerry, 20 Will Genia, 21 Charlie Fetoai, 22 TBA

Lions: 15 Earl Rose, 14 Wylie Human, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Doppies la Grange, 11 Jaco Pretorius, 10 Jaco van Schalkwyk, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Jacques Cronj’, 7 Ernst Joubert (c), 6 Cobus Grobbelaar, 5 Cobus Grobler, 4 Anton van Zyl, 3 Bertus Smit, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Ethienne Reynecke, 17 Brian Mujati, 18 Franco van der Merwe, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Andre Pretorius, 22 Jannie Boshoff

Referee: Kelvin Deaker (New Zealand)
Touch judges: TBC (New Zealand), Brett Bowden (Australia)
Television match official: George Ayoub (Australia)
Assessor: Dennis Immelman (South Africa), Andrew Cole (Australia)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.