Super Rugby

Lions change their pack for Highlanders




Lions Super rugby head coach Swys de Bruin has named a team with six changes for this weekend’s match against the Highlanders in Dunedin on Saturday.

Robbie Coetzee starts at hooker with Johannes Jonker next to him in the front row.

Two new locks, Andries Ferreira and Marvin Orie, will lock the scrum while the loose trio will consist of Cyle Brink, captain Franco Mostert and Kwagga Smith.

The starting back-line is unchanged from the team that played against the Hurricanes last weekend.

The bench will be made up of three front rankers, Jacques van Rooyen, Ruan Dreyer and Jacobie Adriaanse, also Lourens Erasmus, Marnus Schoeman, Dillon Smit, Rohan Janse van Rensburg and Sylvian Mahuza.


15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Kwagga Smith, 7 Franco Mostert (captain), 6 Cyle Brink, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Johannes Jonker, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Dylan Smith

Replacements: 16 Jacques van Rooyen, 17 Ruan Dreyer, 18 Jacobie Adriaanse, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Marnus Schoeman, 21 Dillon Smit, 22 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 23 Sylvian Mahuza

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.