Super Rugby

Lions confirm 2018 Super Rugby squad



Super rugby Aotearoa : Home | SR Aotearoa Fixtures | Super rugby AU : Home | SR AU Fixtures |


2016 and 2017 Super Rugby finalists the Lions have named their Super Rugby squad for the 2018 season.

The Lions reached the last two Super Rugby finals under former coach Johan Ackermann but lost on both occassions.

The Lions have also lost their former defence coach JP Ferreira who has moved on to Irish club Munster.

The Lions are now coached by Swys de Bruin who has named a 40 strong squad that features 12 Springboks including Bok captain Warren Whiteley.

Other notable Springbok names in the squad are Ruan Combrinck, Andries Coetzee, Rohan Janse van Rensburg, Lionel Mapoe and Elton Jantjies.

Springbok forwards Ruan Dreyer, Malcolm Marx, Franco Mostert and Jaco Kriel are also included.

Coach de Bruin has named winger Courtnall Skosan in his squad even though he is expected to miss the entire Super Rugby season due to injury.

The Lions squad has a number of new faces including former Bulls prop Jacobie Adriaanse, scrumhalf Marco Jansen van Vuuren and Hacjivah Dayimani.

Springbok Sevens player Kwagga Smith is in the squad, while Griquas scrumhalf Tian Meyer and Pumas flanker Marnus Schoeman also feature.

Lions Super Rugby squad

Jacobie Adriaanse, Cyle Brink, Robbie Coetzee, Andries Coetzee, Ruan Combrinck, Ross Cronjé, Ashlon Davids, Hacjivah Dayimani, Ruan Dreyer, Aphiwe Dyanti, Willie Engelbrecht, Lourens Erasmus, Andries Ferreira, Corne Fourie, Rhyno Herbst, Rohan Janse van Rensburg, Marco Jansen van Vuren, Elton Jantjies, Johannes Jonker, Jaco Kriel, Robert Kruger, Sylvian Mahuza, Lionel Mapoe, Malcolm Marx, Len Massyn, Christiaan Meyer, Howard Mnisi, Franco Mostert, Marvin Orie, Shaun Reynolds, Marnus Schoeman, Sti Sithole, Courtnall Skosan, Dillon Smith, Kwagga Smith, Dylan Smith, Madosh Tambwe, Jacques van Rooyen, Harold Vorster, Warren Whiteley (c).

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.