Super Rugby

Lions make six changes for Southern Kings




Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has named a team with six changes to the line up to play the Southern Kings in Port Elizabeth on Saturday.

Ackermann has named a new look front row made up Corne Fourie, Armand van der Merwe and Ruan Dreyer.

There are three additional changes to the side that beat the Stormers in their last outing.

Cyle Brink comes into the starting line up at flank, Faf de Klerk returns to the starting line up and Howard Mnisi starts at centre.

The Lions have a shortage in depth at hooker so Ramone Samuels has been called up from the Currie Cup side to provide cover on the bench as Malcolm Marx and Julian Redelinghuys reover from injuries sustained against the Stormers.


15 Jaco van der Walt, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley (C), 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Cyle Brink, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Armand van der Merwe, 1 Corne Fourie

Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Jacques van Rooyen, 19 Ruan Ackermann, 20 Jaco Kriel, 21 Ross Cronje, 22 JW Bell, 23 Rohan Janse van Rensburg

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.