Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Lions maul Waratahs in 8-try thrashing

Elton Jantjies is Lions Super rugby captain this weekend

Elton Jantjies is Lions Super rugby captain this weekend

Lions thrashed the Waratahs 55-36 in a pulsating exhibition of rugby at Emirates Airlines Stadium in Johannesburg.

This was Super Rugby at its best: you score, we score. There were eight tries in the first half alone, as the teams went in at the break 33-24.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Rohan Janse van Rensburg scored his second brace in two weeks and Elton Jantjies, who had a great day with the boot, kicked 15 points.

The Lions were dominant in the scrum and line-out, scoring four of their first five tries from the set-piece. Conversely, the Waratahs were not.

The Tahs didn’t help themselves with two yellow cards in the first half  and poor execution in the second, which the Lions used to their advantage, gifting them the win.

Next week in Round 3 the Lions travel to Buenos Aires to play the Jaguares while the Waratahs play the Sharks in Durban.

More to follow…

Final Score Lions 55 (33) Waratahs 29 (24)


Tries – Whiteley, Ackermann, Janse van Rensburg (2), Coetzee, Cronje, Mahuza, Marx
Pen –
Con – Jantjies (6)
Drop – Jantjies

Cards – Mostert (Yellow, 57th minute)


Tries – Horne, Hooper, Hegarty, McDuling, Folau
Pen – Robinson
Con – Robinson (4), Hegarty (1)
Drop –

Cards – (2) Robinson (Yellow, 1oth minute), Kepu (Yellow, 31st minute)

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Ref 1:Quinton Immelman
Assistant Ref 2: Stuart Berry
TMO :Johan Greeff



Jacques v Rooyen,2. Robbie Coetzee,3. Ruan Dreyer,4. Andries Ferreira,5. Franco Mostert,6. Jaco Kriel,7. Ruan Ackermann,8. Warren Whiteley ©,9. Ross Cronje,10. Elton Jantjies,11. Courtnall Skosan,12. Rohan Janse van Rensburg,13. Harold Vorster,14. Lionel Mapoe,15. Andries Coetzee

Replacements : Malcolm Marx,17. Dylan Smith,18. Johannes Jonker,19. Lourens Erasmus,20. Kwagga Smith,21. Faf de Klerk,22. Sylvian Mahuza,23. Jaco vd Walt


15 Andrew Kellaway 14 Reece Robinson, 13 Israel Folau, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bryce Hegarty, 9 Matt Lucas, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Jack Dempsey, 5 Senio Toleafoa , 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tolu Latu, 1 Tom Robertson

Replacements: 16 Hugh Roach, 17 Paddy Ryan, 18 David Lolohea, 19 David McDuling, 20 AN Other, 21 AN Other, 22 David Horwitz, 23 Taqele Naiyaravoro

Exit mobile version