Super Rugby

Lions re-sign coach Ackermann and bulk of squad




The Golden Lions Rugby Union have announced that they have re-signed head coach Johan Ackermann and the bulk of their senior squad for 2017 and beyond.

The GLRU has negotiated long term contract extensions with most of their senior players to compliment the contract extensions of their senior coaching staff.

As the process of extending more players is currently underway, the following players can be confirmed to have committed for 2017 and longer.

“The GLRU also has a strong contingent of young players in their player pool. We are very excited about the University of Johannesburg who will host the Varsity Cup semi-final, the UJ Young Guns who qualified for the final and Wits who has been promoted to the Varsity Cup for 2017,” said Rudolf Straeuli, CEO of the GLRU.

Lions re-signed players

Warren Whiteley , Jaco Kriel , Julian Redelinghuys , Malcolm Marx , Robbie Coetzee , Jacques van Rooyen , Dylan Smith , Ruan Dreyer , Robert Kruger , Ruan Ackermann , Fabian Booysen , Jano Venter , Dillon Smit , Elton Jantjies , Harold Vorster , Lionel Mapoe , Rohan Janse van Rensburg , Andries Coetzee , Courtnall Skosan

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.