Super Rugby

Lions start Mostert at 7 against Bulls




Lions coach Swys de Bruin has named his Super Rugby team to play the Bulls this weekend and named Franco Mostert at No 7.

Mostert has previously started at lock including last week against the Jaguares but has now moved to the side of the scrum.

As a result of Mostert’s move there are some changes in the pack. Cyle Brink starts at six and replaces Kwagga Smith who was unavailable for selection.

Marvin Orie will start in the second row alongside Brink.

In the backline Rohan Janse van Rensburg comes into the starting side and replaces Harold Vorster at inside centre.

Howard Mnisi and Hacjivah Dayimani have dropped out of the match day squad and Marnus Schoeman and Madosh Tambwe come on to the bench.


15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley (captain), 7 Franco Mostert, 6 Cyle Brink, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Jacques van Rooyen

Replacements: 16 Robbie Coetzee, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Jacobie Adriaanse, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Marnus Schoeman, 21 Marco Jansen van Vuren, 22 Harold Vorster, 23 Madosh Tambwe

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.