Super Rugby

Lions unchanged for Sharks Super Rugby quarter final



Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Lions Super Rugby head coach Johan Ackermann has named an unchanged team to play the Sharks in their Super Rugby quarter final in Johannesburg.

Ruan Combrinck will reach the milestone of 50 Super Rugby caps when he runs out at Emirates Airline Park on Saturday for the Super Rugby quarter final against the Sharks.

Elton Jantjies is the overall leading point scorer in Super Rugby 2017 with 166 points. His 47 conversions for the Super Lions is also a new Lions record for a Super year, breaking his record of 44 conversions in 2016.

Jantjies also played in his 84th match for the Lions Super franchise, breaking Franco van der Merwe’s record of 83 appearances.

The 2017 team has scored 81 tries thus far, equalling the 2016 record of 81 team tries, with play-offs remaining.

More to follow.


1. Jacques van Rooyen,2. Malcolm Marx,3. Ruan Dreyer,4. Andries Ferreira,5. Franco Mostert,6. Jaco Kriel ©,7. Kwagga Smith,8. Ruan Ackermann,9. Ross Cronje,10. Elton Jantjies,11. Courtnall Skosan,12. Harold Vorster,13. Lionel Mapoe,14. Ruan Combrinck,15. Andries Coetzee,

Replacements : 16. Akker vd Merwe,17. Corne Fourie,18. Johannes Jonker,19. Lourens Erasmus,20. Cyle Brink,21. Faf de Klerk,22. Rohan Janse van ,Rensburg,23. Sylvian Mahuza


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.