Super Rugby

Lions beat Jaguares in Johannesburg




The fourth Super Rugby match on Saturday in Round 13 is in Johannesburg where the Lions will play the Jaguares for the first time.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

Hernandez kicks off and the match is underway.

2.00: Both teams show that they are intent on running the ball. The Lions attack from the half way after a frenetic start. They get in to the Jaguares 22 and then move the ball wide at pace and stretch the Jaguares and Courtnall Skosan Skosan scores in the corner.

3.00: Elton Jantjies misses the conversion.

5.00: Penalty to the Jaguares. Sanchez takes the kick for posts and nails it. The Jaguares are on the board.

8.00: Penalty to the Jaguares. Sanchez takes the kick and again he nails it. The Jaguares lead.

12.00: The Lions put in a big scrum and the front rows pop up which wins the Lions a penalty. Elton Jantjies will take penalty kick at the posts.

13.00: Jantjies misses the penalty kick. Thats 0 from 2.

14.00: There is a break in play as referee Stuart Berry talks to the TMO about a dangerous tackle. It’s a penalty only against Cyle Brink who was involved in a tackle with Franco Mostert.

16.00: The Jaguares attack and get the ball into the corner but Sanchez offloads and the ball goes to Faf de Klerk who tries to run the ball out of the Lions 22. There is a knock on.

17.00: The Lions win a scrum and boot upfield. The Jaguares run the ball back before the Lions turn the ball over and counter-attack.  Skosan fails to release at the breakdown and the Jaguares get a penalty. They kick for touch.

22.00: The Jaguares put the Lions under some pressure in their 22 but the Lions defend, turn the ball over and kick upfield. The Lions win the ball back but there is a knock on.

The Lions win the scrum and move the ball down the line. Lionel Mapoe races to the corner, slips off a tackle an stumbles his way over the tryline and scores. TRY!

25.00: Jantjies takes the conversion kick and nails this one. (1 from 3)

28.00: The Jaguares run the ball into the Lions half and show some slick handling. Lanadajo slips but gets up but then the support comes and they knock the ball on.

30.00:Penalty to the Jaguares. Sanchez takes the shot and nails it.

32.00: The Lions are awarded a penalty. Jantjies takes the kick but again he misses. (1 from 4)

37.00: The ball goes dead in the ruck and the Lions get the scrum put in. Some of the Jaguares playing are puffing already.

38.00: The Lions win the scrum and they pass the ball down the line slipping past Jaguares players and Lourens Erasmus scores his first Super Rugby TRY! Good try but poor defence.

40.00: Elton Jantjies adds the conversion. It’s half time.(2 from 5)

The half time score was Lions 19 Jaguares 9

The Lions kick off and the second half is underway.

42.00: The Lions make a strong start and Armand van der Merwe is stopped short of the tryline.

43.00: The Lions put the put the Jaguares under pressure in their 22. They move the ball through the hands and the Lions go over. The pass is very suspect forward but the TMO checks and awarded the try to Cyle Brink.

44.00: Jantjies fails to add the conversion. (2 from 6)

47.00: Penalty to the Jaguares. Sanchez lines up the posts, takes the kick and nails it.

49.00: The whistle goes and referee Stuart Berry calls over Landajo and Santiago Botta for a chat. The Lions get a penalty and they kick for touch and the line out.

52.00: The Lions go on the attack in the Jaguares 22 but they knock on. The Jaguares win the scrum and Landajo breaks away and then kicks upfield.

55.00: The Lions continue to put the Jaguares under pressure in their half. Jantjies gets some wrapping on his fingers – possibly a broken finger. The Lions will have a scrum.

56.00: Penalty to the Lions as Landajo tackles de Klerk at the breakdown. Ruan Combrinck takes the kick and nails it.

58.00; The Lions get turnover ball and Jaco Kriel races 35m down the touchline and scores in the corner. TRY!

59.00: Combrinck takes the conversion kick and he nails it.

61.00: The Lions break the Jaguares line of defence and he hands off a persistent tackle as he runs for the line and scores. TRY!

63.00: Combrinck misses the conversion.

65.00: The Lions try to run the ball from their 22 but the pass goes forward and they are called back.

65.00: The Jaguares win the scrum and they go wide and Sanchez slips over and scores in the corner. TRY!

66.00: Sanchez can’t add the conversion.

69.00: The Lions stretch the Jaguares defence again and Combrinck runs for the corner and scores his second TRY!

69.00: Combrinck fails to add the conversion.

70.00: Warren Whiteley slips down the touchline and offloads to his support and Skosan gets the ball and scores TRY!

71.00: Combrinck fails to add the conversion again.

76.00: The Jaguares get a penalty and take the quick tap and Gonzalo Bertranou scores. TRY!

77.00: Iglesias converts the try.

80.00: The Lions are awarded a penalty on full time from the scrum. They will kick for posts.

81.00: Combrinck takes the penalty kick and he nails it.

Thats it the Lions have won.

The full time score is Lions 52 (19) Jaguares 24 (9) 


Tries – C.Skosan 2, L.Mapoe, L.Erasmus, C.Brink, J.Kriel, R.Combrinck 2
Pen – R.Combrinck 2
Con – E.Jantjies 2, R.Combrinck
Drop –
Cards –

Tries -N.Sanchez, G.Bertranou
Pen – N.Sanchez 4
Con – Iglesias
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Stuart Berry
Assistant Ref 1:Cwengile Jadezweni
Assistant Ref 2:Lourens van der Merwe
TMO : Willie Vos



Corne Fourie , Armand van der Merwe , Julian Redelinghuys , Lourens Erasmus , Franco Mostert , Jaco Kriel , Cyle Brink , Warren Whiteley , Faf de Klerk , Elton Jantjies , Courtnall Skosan , Howard Mnisi , Lionel Mapoe , Ruan Combrinck , Jaco van der Walt

Replacements : Malcolm Marx , Dylan Smith , Jacques van Rooyen , Ruan Ackermann , Warwick Tecklenburg , Ross Cronje , Rohan Janse van Rensburg , Sylvian Mahuza


1. Santiago García Botta, 2.Julián Montoya , 3. Ramiro Herrera , 4. Matías Alemanno , 5.Tomás Lavanini , 6. Pablo Matera, 7.Tomás Lezana, 8. Facundo Isa , 9.Martín Landajo , 10.Nicolás Sánchez ,11. Lucas González Amorosino , 12.Matías Orlando, 13.Juan Martin Hernandez, 14. Emiliano Boffelli, 15. Joaquín Tuculet y Segundo Tuculet.

Replacements : Facundo Bosch, Facundo Gigena, 18. Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro 19.Guido Petti ,20. Javier Ortega Desio, 21.Gonzalo Bertranou, 22.Santiago González Iglesias 23.Ramiro Moyano

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.