Super Rugby

Lions beat Sharks in Johannesburg




The second Super Rugby match on Saturday on South African soil is in Johannesburg where the Lions host Durban’s Sharks.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

Andre Esterhuizen has been replaced by S’bura Sithole in the Sharks starting lineup. Heimar Williams comes on to the bench. JP Pietersen starts at 13. Esterhuizen suffered a hamstring strain on Thursday.

Elton Jantjies kicks off and the match is underway. The Sharks win a penalty and a fight breaks out. It dies down.

2.00: Both teams looking to run the ball.

3.00: Faf de Klerk uses the box kick and the Lions chase. The Sharks kick deep – too deep so the Lions have a 22 drop out.

4.00: Paul Jordaan has taken a knock on his leg. He may have to come off. The Sharks continue to play.

5.00: The Lions turn the ball over and win a penalty. Heimar Williams who wasn’t even on the team sheet earlier today is coming on or Jordaan.

6.00: The Lions win the line out – they have an advantage – they play on but the Sharks get a hand to the ball. The Lions get called back for the penalty. Jantjies will have a shot at the posts.

7.00: Jantjies takes the kick and nails it.

11.00: Keegan Daniel concedes a penalty – hands in the ruck. Ruan Combrinck kicks for touch.

14.00: The Sharks get an intercept. The Lions turn the ball over and attack and it ends with a pass out to Ruan Combrinck who scores. TRY!

15.00: Jantjies takes the conversion. He misses.

18.00: The Lions show some quick hands but it’s too quick for Lionel Mapoe and he headbutts the ball.

20.00: The Lions win a penalty from the scrum. They choose to kick for the corner and the line out.

23.00: The Sharks knock on in their 22 so the Lions have a scrum in front of the posts. It collapses so it has to be reset.

25.00: The Lions win the scrum and send several waves of attack a the Sharks line. Rohan Janse Van Rensburg snipes from two metres out and scores. TRY!

27.00: Jantjies misses the conversion.

29.00: The Lions go long with the line out – too long so the Sharks get the ball. Garth April boots the ball away.

30.00: The Lions counter attack and they chip the ball ahead. The ball bounces in favour of the Lions and Ackermann passes to Malcolm Marx who scores. TRY!

31.00: Jantjies adds the conversion.

35.00: The Sharks get some rare attacking ball in space. Lwazi Mvovo breaks away and passes to Odwa Ndungane but he loses the ball.

39.00: The Lions continue to attack the Sharks. They send wave after wave of attack at the Sharks and eventually Ruan Ackermann goes over to score. The TMO will check the grounding. It’s a TRY! Jantjies adds the conversion.

40.00: The Sharks kick off but the Lions run it into touch as the siren has sounded.

The half time score was Lions 27 Sharks 0

The Sharks kick off and the second half is underway.

42.00: Penalty to the Lions. Jantjies takes the kick and he nails it.

44.00: Ackermann steals the ball from the Sharks, The Lions attack and de Klerk races down the wing but he slips and takes the ball into touch.

45.00: The Lions concede a penalty at the line out so the Sharks clear the ball into touch.

49.00: The Lions attack from their half. Lionel Mapoe races for the line looking everywhere but in front and runs straight into S’bura Sithole.

53.00: Combrinck gets into space down the wing but is just caught. The Lions recycle and continue the attack.

54.00: The Lions chip the ball ahead and Mapoe tries to get the ball but knocks on in the tackle as he goes over.

56.00: Lions coach Ackermann brings on four replacements all at once.

57.00: The Lions continue to outclass the Sharks. Jaco Kriel goes over for the Lions – he is tackled as he goes over but wrestles with the Sharks and gets the ball down. TRY!

58.00: Jantjies adds the conversion and then goes off and is replaced by Ross Cronje.

62.00: The Sharks finally get something on the scoreboard. They spread the ball down the line and Mvovo waits and then steps inside and scores. TRY!

63.00: The conversion is missed.

66.00: The Sharks attack from deep. Keegan Daniel runs but is tackled. The Sharks keep the ball alive.

68.00: The Sharks set up a line out in the Lions 22. They use the maul and drive over the line and Chiliboy Ralepelle scores. TRY!

69.00: April misses the conversion.

71.00: The Sharks scrum powers through the Lions scrum. The Sharks win a penalty and kick to the corner.

73.00: The Sharks win the line out and attack the Lions in their 22. The Sharks have the advantage but they continue to attack. They are called back for a penalty and they run it.

74.00: The Sharks go for the line but somehow Akker van der Merwe comes away with it. He runs away but the Lions lose the ball in the tackle.

76.00: The Sharks try to attack the Lions but Akker van der Merwe wraps up the attack with a bear hug tackle.

79.00: The Sharks are finishing strongly. They have the ball on attack but then they let it loose. The Lions turn the ball over and kick it into touch.

Thats it. The Lions have won.

The full time score is Lions 37 (27) Sharks 10 (0) 


Tries -R. Combrinck,R. Janse Van Rensburg, M. Marx, R.Ackermann, J.Kriel
Pen – E.Jantjies 2
Con -E.Jantjies 3
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – L.Mvovo, C.Ralepelle
Pen –
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Attendance : 33862

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant Ref 1:Quinton Immelman (South Africa),
Assistant Ref 2:Lesego Legoete (South Africa)
TMO :Johan Greeff (South Africa)



Dylan Smith , Malcolm Marx , Julian Redelinghuys , Andries Ferreira , Franco Mostert , Jaco Kriel , Warwick Tecklenburg , Ruan Ackermann , Faf de Klerk , Elton Jantjies , Courtnall Skosan , Rohan Janse Van Rensburg , Lionel Mapoe , Ruan Combrinck , Andries Coetzee

Replacements : Armand Van Der Merwe , Corne Fourie , Jacques van Rooyen , Lourens Erasmus , Cyle Brink , Ross Cronje , Howard Mnisi , Sylvian Mahuza


15. Odwa Ndungane , 14.S’bura Sithole  , 13. JP Pietersen , 12.Paul Jordaan , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Garth April , 9. Michael Claassens , 8. Philip van der Walt , 7. Jean-Luc du Preez , 6. Keegan Daniel , 5. Stephan Lewies , 4. Etienne Oosthuizen , 3. Lourens Adriaanse , 2. Franco Marais , 1. Tendai Mtawarira (C)

Replacements : 16. Chiliboy Ralepelle , 17. Thomas du Toit , 18. Coenie Oosthuizen , 19. Ruan Botha , 20. Tera Mtembu , 21. Stefan Ungerer , 22. Rhyno Smith , 23. Heimar Williams


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.