Super Rugby

Lions beat Stormers in Johannesburg




The Lions have played the Stormers 26 times in Super rugby since 1998 and the Lions have won 9 matches, lost 16 times and drawn one.

The Lions 9 wins out of 26 matches gives them a record of winning 63% of their matches against the Stormers regardless of venue.

  • The Lions have won four of their last six Super Rugby matches against the Stormers (D1, L1), dipping to a two-point defeat in their last encounter.
  • The Lions have won nine of their last 11 Super Rugby games at Emirates Airlines Park, with two of those last three wins coming after having trailed at the half-time interval.
  • The Stormers have won their last three South African derbies on the bounce in Super Rugby, each by a margin of no more than five points.
  • The Lions have been awarded 12 penalties per game thus far in Super Rugby 2019, the most of any team in the competition.
  • Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers) has made 13 tackles per game this Super Rugby campaign, the third most of any player in the competition and more than any other South African.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

Shaun Reynolds kicks off for the Lions and the match is underway.

3.00: The teams test each other out in defence and attack. Kwagga Smith wins the ball from a turnover and the Lions get the ball to Aphiwe Dyantyi who races down the sideline but gets caught.

4.00: The Lions almost get through on the wing again but the ball goes forward.

9.00: The Lions win a line out on the Stormers 5m line. Kwagga Smith slips through a weak tackle and dives over to score. TRY!

10.00: Shaun Reynolds takes the conversion kick but misses.

16.00: The Stormers win a penalty and choose a scrum. The Lions put in a massive shove and win a penalty from the pressure. They kick for touch.

17.00: The Lions win the line out. They drive for the line but the Stormers defence holds them out.

18.00: The Lions continue the attack through 8 phases and then chip ahead but the ball goes out behind the posts.

20.00: The Lions are doing all of the attacking. Dyantyi attempts to get away again but loses the ball forward.

23.00: The Lions attack down the wing and Kwagga Smith chips and chases but as he gets to the ball he knocks on in the rush to get to the ball.

27.00: Penalty to the Lions. Reynolds takes the kick and nails it.

32.00: Penalty to the Stormers. They choose to kick for points. Josh Stander takes the kick and nails it.

35.00: The Lions attack the Stormers in their 22. Andries Coetzee dodges a couple of tackles and then darts for the line. As he gets to the line he is double tackled but rolls over in the tackle and scores – TRY!

36.00: Reynolds misses the conversion.

37.00: The Stormers get some rare attacking ball and Johan du Toit bursts through in the Lions 22 in front of the posts and darts over to score. TRY! 

38.00: Stander adds the conversion.

40.00: The siren sounds but there is a tackle in the air by the Lions so the Stormers have a penalty. They take the line out.

41.00: The whistle goes for half time. It is half time.

The half time score was Lions 13 Stormers 10

Josh Stander kicks off and the second half is underway.

43.00: The Lions get a near perfect start. Mapoe breaks away down the wing and is supported by Coetzee. The Stormers scramble in defence but the Lions get the ball to Kwagga Smith who dives over in the corner. TRY! 

44.00: Reynolds adds the conversion.

47.00: Mapoe breaks away again for the Lions but gets caught. The Lions come up in support and Courtnall Skosan gets the ball while Mapoe is being tackled and he runs in to score for the Lions. TRY! 

48.00: Reynolds adds the conversion.

53.00: The Stormers work the ball into the Lions 22. They get to the 5m line and drive over. Herschel Jantjies scores – TRY! 

53.00: Standers adds the conversion.

56.00: The Lions get the ball wide to Dyanti who is wide open. He opens up the pace and races for the line and scores. TRY! 

57.00: Reynolds takes the conversion kick and nails it.

64.00; Penalty to the Stormers. They choose the line out and kick for touch.

65.00: The Stormers win the line out and attack in the Lions 22. The Stormers move the ball to the middle and suck in the Lions and then go back wide to Joshua Stander who crashes over and scores.  TRY!

66.00: Jean-Luc du Plessis, takes the conversion kick but misses.

71.00: The Stormers up the pressure on the Lions sending waves of attack at the Lions on their 5m line but the Lions hold them out.

72.00: The Stormers have a scrum on the Lions 5m line. It goes down. It’s reset and the Lions shove early. Stormers tap and go.

74.00: The Stormers attack again and again but the Lions keep them out. The ball goes into touch.

76.00: The Stormers win a line out in the Lions 22 but Kwagga Smith turns the ball over and the Lions start their attack from inside their half. The Lions get to the halfway line but knock on.

78.00: The Lions deliver a big shove in the scrum and it wins them the ball. The Lions go through a couple of phases and Tyrone Green gets into space. He offloads to Malcolm Marx and he offloads to Hacjivah Dayimani who runs in the Lions sixth try.

79.00: Reynolds takes the conversion kick and nails it.

80.00: Jean-Luc du Plessis kicks off but the ball does not go 10m. The Lions choose a scrum. The Lions win the scrum and Reynolds boots the ball into touch to end the match.

The Lions have won.

To refresh this page click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The full-time score is Lions 41 (13) Stormers 22 (10)


Tries – K.Smith 2, A. Coetzee, C. Skosan, A.Dyanti, H. Dayimani
Pen – S.Reynolds
Con -S.Reynold 4
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – J. du Toit, H.Jantjies, J. Stander
Pen – J.Stander
Con – J.Stander 2
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Ref 1: Cwengile Jadezweni
Assistant Ref 2: Stefan Geldenhuys
TMO: Marius Jonker



15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Courtnall Skosan, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Shaun Reynolds, 9 Ross Cronjé, 8 Kwagga Smith (captain), 7 Vincent Tshituka, 6 Cyle Brink, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Stephan Lewies, 3 Carlü Sadie, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Dylan Smith

Replacements: 16 Jan-Henning Campher, 17 Sti Sithole, 18 Johannes Jonker, 19 Reinhard Nothnagel, 20 Marnus Schoeman, 21 Hacjivah Dayimani, 22 Nic Groom, 23 Tyrone Green


15 Damian Willemse, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Dillyn Leyds, 10 Josh Stander, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Johan du Toit, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 Cobus Wiese, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff (captain)

Replacements: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Ernst van Rhyn, 20 Marno Redelinghuys, 21 Justin Phillips, 22 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 23 Dan Kriel

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.