Loose forward shake-up for Chiefs




A new Chiefs loose forward combination will run out against the Cheetahs in a Super 14 match in Bloemfontein on Friday.

Chiefs coach Ian Foster has named Liam Messam to start on the blindside flank, Tanerau Latimer at openside flank and Sione Lauaki at number eight.

Experienced campaigners Steven Bates and Marty Holah are on the bench.

“This is our third game on tour with only a six-day turnaround from a tough match against the Bulls in the heat,” Foster said.

“We are injecting some fresh legs through Messam and Latimer in the starting line-up. We will look to use the experience of Bates and Holah later in the game to provide composure,” the coach added.

Hooker Tom Willis will take over the captaincy role for this match.

Foster has named only two backs on the Chiefs’ replacement bench for this Round Five fixture – Brendon Leonard and Murray Williams.

Jamie Nutbrown will start ahead of Leonard at halfback, with Foster reporting that Leonard was exhausted following the Bulls match.

Centre Niva Ta’auso is back starting in the number 13 jersey this week.

Chiefs midfielder Richard Kahui returned to New Zealand earlier this week due to the recurrence of his shoulder injury.

On the Chiefs bench back-up hooker Aled de Malmanche is bracketed with prop Craig West. Last week de Malmanche suffered a groin strain. A decision on his inclusion will be made on game day.

Chiefs: 15 Dwayne Sweeney, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Niva Ta’auso, 12 Tane Tu’ipulotu, 11 Roy Kinikinilau, 10 Stephen Donald, 9 Jamie Nutbrown, 8 Sione Lauaki, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Keith Robinson, 4 Toby Lynn, 3 Nathan White, 2 Tom Willis (c), 1 Simms Davison
Replacements: 16 Aled de Malmanche/Craig West, 17 Ben Castle, 18 Kristian Ormsby, 19 Steven Bates, 20 Marty Holah, 21 Brendon Leonard, 22 Murray Williams

Date: Friday, March 2
Venue: Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
Kick-off: 19.10 (17.10 GMT)
Referee: James Leckie (Australia)
Touch judges: Dan Cheever (Australia), Linston Manuels (South Africa)
Television match official: Johann Meuwesen (South Africa)
Assessor: Tappe Henning (South Africa)

365 Digital

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.