Super Rugby

Mallett : Penalty try was a fair decision




Former Springbok coach Nick Mallett has reacted to Super Sport commentator Bobby Skinstad after he said the referee in the Stormers v Sharks match got it wrong by saying it was the right call.

Match Referee Mike Fraser and Television Match Official Marius Jonker reviewed clips of Siya Kolisi kicking the ball away from Cobus Reinach who was attempting to score a try.

After come deliberation Fraser yellow carded Kolisi and awarded a penalty try saying that the try would have most likely have been scored.

SuperSport rugby commentator Bobby Skinstad was quick to say that referee had got the call “completely wrong” in his match commentary but speaking after the match ex-Bok coach Nick Mallett differed in a post-match analysis.

“Kolisi did not deliberately kick the ball away, but the penalty try was a fair decision,” said Mallett.

The penalty try with the conversion was worth 7 points and the Sharks went on to win the match by five points at 13-18.

Meanwhile Sharks flanker Marcell Coetzee who won man of the match praised both teams for a typically physical South African showdown that was hard work for Fraser to control at times.

“Matches between us are always close and physical and we did well to come back in the second half after doing a lot of defending in our own half up to half-time,” said Coetzee.


Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.