Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

McKenzie returns for Chiefs against Hurricanes

Damian McKenzie of the Chiefs during a Super Rugby match

PRETORIA, SOUTH AFRICA - MARCH 23: Damian McKenzie of the Chiefs during a Super Rugby match between Vodacom Bulls and Chiefs at Loftus Versfeld on March 23, 2019 in Pretoria, South Africa. (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

Chiefs Super rugby head coach Warren Gatland has named a team with two changes in it to play the Hurricanes at FMG Stadium Waikato.

The Chiefs will be unveiling a new piece of history with a limited edition Chiefs jersey to be worn when the side face the Bulls in round ten.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Chiefs Head Coach Warren Gatland has only made two changes to his starting fifteen to take to the field for Friday night’s New Zealand derby and Damian McKenzie and Atu Moli return to the squad.

Versatile loose forward and locking cover Mitchell Brown will be the only change to the powerful Chiefs forward pack. Brown enters the starting fifteen in jersey number five for Canadian international Tyler Ardron who was ruled out due to an infection.

In the backs, the impressive line-up will be bolstered once again with All Black fullback Damian McKenzie named in the familiar fifteen jersey. Waikato utility back Solomon Alaimalo shifts to the left wing for the injured Sean Wainui.

All Black Atu Moli returns to the twenty-three named on the bench as cover in jersey seventeen alongside Taranaki hooker Bradley Slater, in the only changes in the reserves.

“Last week we started well and that provided us with a solid platform for the second half. Again, this week we will be challenged to do the same. Any New Zealand derby is going to be a tough battle, the Hurricanes will be hurting from their loss last weekend and will be hungry to rectify that. We need to remain focused on being disciplined, utilise our opportunities and deliver a performance that our members and supporters can be proud of,” said Gatland.


15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Shaun Stevenson, 13 Tumua Manu, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Solomon Alaimalo, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Pita Gus Sowakula, 7 Sam Cane (captain), 6 Lachlan Boshier, 5 Mitchell Brown, 4 Michael Allardice, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Aidan Ross

Replacements: 16 Bradley Slater, 17 Atu Moli, 18 Reuben O’Neill, 19 Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 20 Mitchell Karpik, 21 Lisati Milo-Harris, 22 Kaleb Trask, 23 Alex Nankivell

Exit mobile version