Rugby Championship News

McMahon and Pocock return for final Bledisloe Cup test




Australia’s head coach Michael Cheika has named David Pocock and Sean McMahon in a 31-man squad that will prepare for the final Bledisloe Cup Test against New Zealand in Auckland.

David Pocock (hand) and Sean McMahon (ankle) both return from injury as the Wallabies aim to break their drought at Eden Park.

Pocock hasn’t played since facing Argentina a month ago, after he broke his hand during the first half of the 36-20 win at nib Stadium.

Fellow number 8 McMahon was injured a week later in Pretoria when he went down with an ankle injury but has recovered well ahead of schedule, with the pair now to battle it out with Lopeti Timani for a starting berth.

It’s a recall for Will Skelton too, with the monster lock in strong form for the Western Sydney Rams in the Buildcorp National Rugby Championship.

The Wallabies Test against New Zealand will also mark an historic occasion as the first-ever double-header, with the Wallaroos to face the Black Ferns at Eden Park at 3pm.

Australia Wallabies 31-man squad for the final Bledisloe Cup Test against New Zealand

Allan Alaalatoa (4 Tests),Rory Arnold (5 Tests),Adam Coleman (6 Tests),Quade Cooper (63 Tests),Kane Douglas (28 Tests),Scott Fardy (37 Tests),Israel Folau (47 Tests),Bernard Foley (36 Tests),Nick Frisby (2 Tests),James Hanson (11 Tests),Dane Haylett-Petty (9 Tests),Reece Hodge (5 Tests),Michael Hooper (60 Tests),Sekope Kepu (72 Tests),Samu Kerevi (7 Tests),Tevita Kuridrani (40 Tests),Tolu Latu*,Sean McMahon (12 Tests),Stephen Moore (c) (111 Tests),Luke Morahan (2 Tests),Dean Mumm (52 Tests),Sefanaia Naivalu (1 Test),Nick Phipps (47 Tests),David Pocock (60 Tests),Tom Robertson (3 Tests),Rob Simmons (65 Tests),Scott Sio (24 Tests),Will Skelton (16 Tests),Henry Speight (5 Tests)James Slipper (82 Tests),Lopeti Timani (2 Tests),

*denotes uncapped player

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.