Super Rugby

Meyer leads Cheetahs against Jaguares




Bloemfontein based Super Rugby franchise the Cheetahs have named their team to play the Jaguares with Tian Meyer as captain.

The Cheetahs face the Jaguares in at Velez Sarsfield in Buenos Aires, Argentina on Saturday and coach Franco Smith has made a number of changes.

New faces to the starting team are Danie Mienie (prop), Elandré Huggett (hooker), Tom Botha (prop), Armandt Koster (lock), Henco Venter (flanker) and Niel Marais at flyhalf.

Ruan van Rensburg (wing) moves to the starting line-up , while Charles Marais, Johan Coetzee, Paul Schoeman and Fred Zeilinga moves to the bench.

Elandré Huggett will be replacing Torsten van Jaarsveld. Armandt Koster will be replacing Justin Basson on lock. Ruan van Rensburg will be replacing the injured Raymond Rhule.

Michael van der Spuy will be joining the starting line-up, replacing Ryno Benjamin on outside centre. Benjamin moves to right wing.

New to the bench: Joseph Dweba, Carl Wegner, William Small-Smith/ Boom Prinsloo and Shaun Venter.


Danie Mienie , Elandré Huggett , Tom Botha , Armandt Koster , Francois Uys , Henco Venter , Oupa Mohoje , Niell Jordaan , Tian Meyer (c ) , Niel Marais , Ruan van Rensburg , Clinton Swart , Michael van der Spuy , Ryno Benjamin , Clayton Blommetjies

Replacements : Joseph Dweba , Charles Marais , Johan Coetzee , Carl Wegner , Paul Schoeman , William Small-Smith / Boom Prinsloo , Shaun Venter , Fred Zeilinga

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.