Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Misfiring Brumbies draw with Southern Kings

Super Rugby newcomers the Southern Kings managed to contain the former tournament leaders the Brumbies to a 28-all draw in Canberra.

The Southern Kings outscored their hosts the Brumbies by four tries to two with their final try coming in extra time and earning them a bonus point.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

The Brumbies started the round as tournament leaders but were overtaken by
the Chiefs who picked up four points for their bye this weekend.

The result keeps the Brumbies on top of the Super Rugby standings but has allowed
the Reds to gain ground on them as they have gone from trailing by 12 points
in Round 5 to trailing by three points in Round 8.

The result also provisionally moves the Southern Kings into 12th place ahead
of the Western Force, Melbourne Rebels and the Highlanders.

The newcomers final try came three minutes after the fulltime siren when number
eight Cornell du Preez plunged over for his second try to cap a fighting comeback
from the Port Elizabeth-based Kings to deny the Brumbies a victory in a spirited
backs-to-the-wall performance.

The Kings capitalised on a out-of-sorts Brumbies to outscore the competition
leaders four tries to two with only Christian Lealiifano’s goalkicking keeping
the Brumbies ahead into the final moments.

The Kings’ committed defence frustrated the Brumbies, who dominated the rucks
and mauls 110-59 and possession 62-38 percent, but could not break free of the
indomitable South Africans after leading 13-0 in the opening 17 minutes.

The Southern Kings now have one win and one tie from the first six games of
their debut season.

Du Preez scored two tries to go with five-pointers from loosehead Schalk Ferreira
and outstanding openside flanker Wimpie van der Walt in the first half.

Flyhalf George Whitehead landed three conversions with replacement Demetri
Catrakilis kicking the conversion to draw the match.

The Kings also played a man down for much of the closing period with Ferreira
in the sin bin for repeated infringements in the 67th minutes. The South Africans
conceded 16 penalties to 10 for the home side.

The Brumbies looked set for a big win after early tries to winger Henry Speight
and Joe Tomane and Christian Lealiifano impressing Wallabies’ coach Robbie Deans
watching from the stands with his inventive showing at flyhalf.

Lealiifano kicked five penalties and scrum-half Nic White landed a long-range
penalty for the Brumbies.

Apart from the two points from the draw the Kings also picked up a bonus point
for scoring four tries, while the Brumbies only added two points to their tally.

The Kings travel to Melbourne next week where they will face the Rebels and
few would have predicted in the pre-season that the Kings would start the match
ahead of the Melbourne side.

The Brumbies travel to Dunedin where they will face the winless Highlanders.


Final Score Brumbies 28 (19) Southern Kings 28 (14)


Tries – H.Speight, J Tomane
Pen – C.Lealiifano 5, N.White
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Southern Kings
Tries – S.Ferreira, W.Van der Walt, C.Du Preez 2 
Pen –
Con – G.Whitehead 3, D. Catrakilis
Drop –
Cards –  S.Ferreira (67th min yellow)

Match Officials
: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1:Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 2:Andrew Lees
TMO : George Ayoub



1. Ben Alexander,2. Siliva Siliva,3. Dan Palmer,4. Peter Kimlin,5. Etienne Oosthuizen,6. Ben Mowen (c),7. George Smith,8. Fotu Auelua,9. Nic White,10. Christian Lealiifano,11. Joe Tomane,12. Pat McCabe,13. Tevita Kuridrani,14. Henry Speight,15. Robbie Coleman

Replacements : 16. Stephen Moore,17. Scott Sio,18. Sam Carter,19. Colby Faingaa,20. Ian Prior,21. Andrew Smith,22. Zack Holmes

Southern Kings

15. Siviwe Soyizwapi , 11. Ronnie Cooke , 13. Waylon Murray , 12. Andries Strauss (Captain) , 14. Sergeal Petersen , 10. George Whitehead, 9. Nicolas Vergallo , 8. Cornell du Preez, 7. Wimpie van der Walt , 5. Rynier Bernardo , 4. Steven Sykes (Vice Captain) , 6. Devin Oosthuizen, 3. Grant Kemp , 2. Hannes Franklin, 1. Schalk Ferreira

Replacements : 16. Bandise Maku , 17. Kevin Buys , 18. David Bulbring , 19. Jacques Engelbrecht , 20. Shaun Venter , 21. Marcello Sampson , 22. Demetri Catrakilis

Exit mobile version