Super Rugby

Blues beat Moana Pasifika in Auckland




The Blues starting line-up in the win over the Highlanders on Saturday had 531 caps for the club, while the team to start on Tuesday night has 154, with 12 players with three Blues caps or less, including four who will be on debut.

There is an experienced look to the front five with All Blacks Alex Hodgman, Nepo Laulala and Luke Romano included, with the veteran lock from Canterbury wearing the captain’s armband.

  • The in-form Stephen Perofeta will anchor the backline but around him is a group of young prospects.
  • There are eleven players set to make their Moana Pasifika debuts in the match-day 23 line-up.
  • Manu Samoa stalwart Jack Lam will become the first Samoan to Captain Moana Pasifika, and he will wear the number eight jersey.
  • Experienced halfback Ereatara Enari will be Moana Pasifika Vice Captain for this fixture.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

1.00: PEEEP! We are underway at Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland.

3.00: A long stoppage for injury leads to a couple of reset scrums.

6.00: Blues are dominating the scrums.

9.00: TRY! Tamati Tua scores on his second appearance for the Blues after collecting Tanielu Tele’a’s grubber from a big scrum. 0-5

11.00: MISS! The kick is wide. 0-5

14.00: It’s all Blues in the first quarter, they are dominating territory and possession, and killing Moana Pasifika in the scrums.

16.00: A lot of stops for injuries, which is not helping for a free-flowing game.

19.00: Superb defending by the islanders to win a turnover penalty following a dangerous attack by the Blues.

21.00: Offside by the islanders leads to another Blues penalty.

24.00: Moana Pasifika is kicking a lot of possession away, which is allowing the Kiwis to counter-attack from deep.

25.00: A big hit by D’Angelo Leuila knocks the ball into touch, but the ball came off a Moana Pasifika player for a Blues’ lineout near the try line.

26.00: TRY! Ricky Riccitelli crashes over from close range after a rolling maul. 0-10

27.00: CONVERSION! Stephen Perofeta adds the extras. 0-12

30.00: Moana Pasifika cannot get their hands on the ball, and they cannot get out of their 22.

32.00: Mark Telea knock on Perofeta’s kick-pass, which if he had caught, would have been a try.

34.00: TRY! Perofeta kicked a penalty to the corner for a driving maul. A patient rolling maul ends with Riccitelli crossing the whitewash for a brace. 0-17

35.00: CONVERSION! Perofeta splits the uprights. 0-19

36.00: Moana Pasifika are trying to run the ball from deep to get back in this game, but poor kicking cedes possession back to the New Zealanders. Plumtree, however, gives away a penalty at the ruck to allow Lincoln McClutchie to set up inside the opposition’s 22.

37.00: TRY! A powerful driving maul from Moana Pasifika’s sees them bulldoze the Blues forwards and Luteru Tolai flop over the chalk. 5-19

39.00: MISS! The kick hits the post. 5-19

41.00: Aaron Mauger’s men are trying to run everything from inside their 22, and it works at the end to set up a last scrum for one more attack.

43.00: Nothing comes from the last scrum.

The halftime score was Moana Pasifika 5 Blues 19

41.00: PEEEP! We are back underway in New Zealand.

43.00: HELD UP! Solomone Kata cannot get the ball grounded.

45.00: TRY! Tolai helps Abraham Pole over the chalk after a well-worked rolling maul from Moana Pasifika’s forwards.

47.00: CONVERSION! D’Angelo Leuila adds the extras. 12-19

49.00: A big hit on Perofeta by Tolai in midfield sees the Blues lose possession before giving away a penalty near halfway. Lincoln McClutchie boots his side deep into the Blues’ 22.

50.00: NO TRY! Tolai thought he had a brace after yet another destructive driving maul from him and his fellow forwards, but the TMO spotted a double movement by the hooker. 12-19

52.00: Magnificient defending by the Blues forwards as they shove the maul into touch.

55.00: TRY! Luke Romano crashes through some strong defending to increase his side’s lead; the try also came from a driving maul. 12-24

56.00: MISS! Perofeta pulls his kick wide of the sticks. 12-24

58.00: RED CARD! Nepo Laulala drives his shoulder into the head of Fine Inisi. 12-24

59.00: TRY! The Blues pulled down the driving maul, but Lincoln McClutchie’s crossfield kick is gathered by Tomasi Alosio to score. 17-24

60.00: CONVERSION! McClutchie knocks over the sideline conversion. Game on! 19-24

64.00: It’s all Moana Pasifika, who have had 75% possession and 80% territory as they fight back.

67.00: Romano left his feet, and opposite skipper Jack Lam won the penalty after the lock did not release.

69.00: TRY! Finlay Christie darts over from close range. 19-29

70.00: MISS! The kick is no good. 19-29

73.00: Time is running out for Mauger’s men, who conceded two penalties and allow the Blues to slow the game down, and move into his team’s half.

75.00: PENALTY! Perofeta lands a goal to kill any hopes of Moana Pasifika mounting a late fightback. 19-32

78.00: The Blues have snuffed out any fightback that might have made Leon MacDonald nervous.

81.00: The Blues end strong, but cannot get the bonus-point try.


To refresh this page click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Moana Pasifika 19 (5) Blues 32 (19)


Moana Pasifika
Tries – Tolai, Pole, Alosio
Pen –
Con – Leuila, McClutchie
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Tua, Riccitelli (2), Romano, Christie
Pen – Perofeta
Con – Perofeta (2)
Drop –
Cards – Laulala (Red, 58′)

Match Officials
Referee: Paul Williams
Assistant Ref 1: Angus Mabey
Assistant Ref 2: Mike Winter
TMO: Richard Kelly


Moana Pasifika: 15 D’Angelo Leuila, 14 Tomasi Alosio, 13 Fine Inisi, 12 Solomone Kata, 11 Anzelo Tuitavuki, 10 Lincoln McClutchie, 9 Ereatara Enari, 8 Jack Lam (captain), 7 Alamanda Motuga, 6 Penitoa Finau, 5 Xavier Cowley-Tuioti, 4 Michael Curry, 3 Joe ‘Apikotoa, 2 Luteru Tolai, 1 Abraham Pole

Replacements: 16 Joe Royal, 17 Suetena Asomua, 18 Chris Apoua, 19 Alex McRobbie, 20 Josh Kaifa, 21 Manu Paea, 22 Nigel Ah Wong, 23 Lolagi Visinia

Blues: 15 Jacob Ratumaitavuki-Kneepens, 14 Mark Telea, 13 Tamati Tua, 12 Tanielu Tele’a, 11 AJ Lam, 10 Stephen Perofeta, 9 Taufa Funaki, 8 Anton Segner, 7 Adrian Choat, 6 Taine Plumtree, 5 Sam Darry, 4 Luke Romano (captain), 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Ricky Riccitelli, 1 Alex Hodgman

Replacements: 16 Soane Vikena, 17 Josh Fusitua, 18 Karl Tu’inukuafe, 19 Cameron Suafoa, 20 Vaiolini Ekuasi, 21 Finlay Christie, 22 Corey Evans, 23 Jock McKenzie

Recommended for you

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Moana Pasifika vs Blues live Super Rugby Pacific score update - Super Rugby Pacific - Daily Post Central

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.