Super Rugby

Waratahs beat Moana Pasifika in Auckland




This will be the first Super Rugby match between Moana Pasifika and the NSW Waratahs.

The Waratahs have won eight of their last nine games in the competition when facing a team for the first time (L1).

  • The NSW Waratahs have lost their last 12 Super Rugby matches in New Zealand, conceding 41 points per game in that span; their last win in the country was a 29-24 victory against the Hurricanes (Rd 10, 2015).
  • Moana Pasifika has won only one of their nine Super Rugby matches (L8) and lost their last six games in succession by an average margin of 24 points.
  • The NSW Waratahs have won three of their last four Super Rugby matches against teams from outside Australia (L1), after winning only one of their 16 such fixtures (L15).
  • Moana Pasifika has made 22% of their total metres gained from kick returns (763/3413), the highest rate of any team.
  • The Waratahs have scored six tries from mauls, the most of any team, and four more than Moana (3).
  • NSW (13) and Moana (13) have conceded more penalties than any team this season.
  • The Tahs (12) and Moana (13) have conceded fewer turnovers than any other side in 2022.

Players to watch

  • Jamie Roberts has made dominant contact on five carries per 80 minutes, the most of any player in the competition (min. 90 minutes played).
  • Timoci Tavatavanawai has beaten nine defenders per 80 minutes, the most of any player (min. 10 minutes played).
  • Christian Leali’ifano (991) needs nine points to reach 1,000 Super Rugby points.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

1.00: PEEEP! We are underway at Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland.

3.00: Tima Fainga’anuku’s knock-on sparks a Waratahs counter-attack that leads to a penalty. Tane Edmed boots to the corner.

6.00: Nothing comes from another good Tahs’ attack. Timoci Tavatavanawai gets over Charlie Gamble and wins the penalty. Christian Leali’ifano clears.

8.00: Moana has a good attacking opportunity with a lineout on the opposition’s 5m, but the chance is wasted with a turnover.

9.00: Christian Leali’ifano calls for the tee after the hosts win a penalty in front of the posts.

10.00: PENALTY! Leali’ifano opens the scoring. 3-0

12.00: Moana bossing the early stages with another sustained attack inside the Waratahs’ 22; however, the home team lose possession with a turnover penalty at the breakdown.

15.00: TRY! Dave Porecki overthrows the defensive lineout, and Solomone Funaki gathered to set up a counter-attack. The ball got shifted wide to the wings where Timoci Tavatavanawai went close. Abraham Pole, on the angled run, takes Ereatara Enari’s pass and crashes over for the score. 8-0

16.00: CONVERSION! Leali’ifano edges closer to 1,000 SR points. 10-0

18.00: A strong carry from Angus Bell ends with the prop being pinged for holding.

21.00: TRY! Another devastating attack on the Tahs’ line, with several pick-and-goes (eight phases, 18 metres gained, 52 seconds), ends with Levi Aumua – who started the attack – scoring under the posts with two defenders hanging off him. 15-0

22.00: CONVERSION! Leali’ifano adds the extras. 17-0

24.00: NSW has conceded six penalties, four turnovers, and two handling errors. Not good enough.

26.00: A couple of offsides by Moana ends with the Tahs winning a kickable penalty inside the opposition’s 22. Instead, Jake Gordon calls for a scrum.

27.00: Moana and Waratahs have both conceded five penalties each. Tahs opt for another scrum.

28.00: TRY! Jake Gordon goes right to Izaia Perese, who cuts inside and breaks Leali’ifano’s tackle before beating Henry Taefu to the whitewash. 17-5

30.00: CONVERSION! Tane Edmed adds the two. 17-7

32.00: The players stop for a break as Sekope Kepu gets treatment.

34.00: Another superb counter-attack by Moana Pasifika ends with a penalty going against the attacking side.

35.00: Perese’s linebreak comes to nothing after he knocks on trying to recycle to Gordon.

37.00: Edmed boots to the corner.

38.00: TRY! Several pick-and-goes end with Dave Porecki breaking left off the ruck to score next to the sticks. 17-12

39.00: CONVERSION! Edmed adds the extras. 17-14

41.00: Moana loses another lineout, and the hooter sounds. Gordon kicks to touch.

The halftime score was Moana Pasifika 17 NSW Waratahs 14

41.00: PEEEP! We are back under way in New Zealand.

42.00: NO TRY! It’s that man Perese again. this time, the ex-rugby league playmaker kicks forward after a counter-attack from the Tahs’ 22. Perese gathered and sent Alex Newsome away. However, there was a foot in touch by Timoci Tavatavanawai before the turnover. 17-14

44.00: Moana earn another kickable penalty, Leali’ifano calls for the tee, he’s looking for 1,000 pts.

46.00: HISTORY IS MADE! Leali’ifano becomes the first Pacific islander to reach 1,000 Super Rugby points. He is now the seventh player to do so in the tournament’s history. 20-14

49.00: All Moana at the minute as the Waratahs struggle to clear their lines.

53.00: A penalty near the Tahs’ line comes to nothing for the home team. The visitors clear before running into the ref to kill a counter-attack.

54.00: YELLOW CARD! Fainga’anuku is off for 10 minutes for a tip-tackle. The Tahs boot to the corner. 17-14

55.00: TRY! Mark Nawaqanitawase takes Gordon’s long cutout pass and beats Willy Havili to the corner flag. 20-19

56.00: MISS! Ben Donaldson’s conversion attempt is wide. 20-19

59.00: Moana boot a penalty to the Tahs’ 22.

61.00: TRY! Jed Holloway sends Dylan Pietsch away in the corner after Nawaqanitawase and Gordon, with some slick handling, combined to start the counter-attack. 20-24

63.00: CONVERSION! Ben Donaldson slots the touchline kick. 20-26

67.00: NO TRY! What a tackle by try scorer Pietsch! He got back to hit Fainga’anuku, whose elbow touched the chalk before he could dot down in the corner. 20-26

70.00: Moana looking for history tonight, but time is running out.

73.00: The game is falling apart at the death as the Tahs look to hold on for a win.

76.00: Moana are on the charge, they have gone through six phases as the batter away at the line.

78.00: Offside by the visitors. Gordon gets a talking to from the ref. Moana tap-and-go, but Henry Time-Stowers knocks on near the Waratahs’ try line. Donaldson clears. OH DEAR!

81.00: The Aussies manage to see out the final minutes without any hitches for a rare win in New Zealand.


To refresh this page, click HERELive In-Play Betting.

The final score is Moana 20 (17) Waratahs 26 (14)


Tries – Pole, Aumua
Pen – Leali’ifano (2)
Con – Leali’ifano (2)
Drop –
Cards – T. Fainga’anuku (Yellow, 54′)

Tries – Perese, Porecki, Nawaqanitawase, Pietsch
Pen –
Con – Edmed (2), Donaldson
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1: Paul Williams
Assistant Ref 2: Mike Winter
TMO: Richard Kelly


Moana Pasifika: 15 Willy Havili, 14 Tima Fainga’anuku, 13 Levi Aumua, 12 Henry Taefu, 11 Timoci Tavatavanawai, 10 Christian Leali’ifano, 9 Ereatara Enari, 8 Henry Time-Stowers, 7 Solomone Funaki, 6 Michael Curry, 5 Sam Slade, 4 Veikoso Poloniati, 3 Sekope Kepu (captain), 2 Ray Niula, 1 Abraham Pole.

Replacements: 16 Luteru Tolai, 17 Ezekiel Lindenmuth, 18 Joe ‘Apikotoa, 19 Alex McRobbie, 20 Jack Lam, 21 Jonathan Taumateine, 22 Lincoln McClutchie, 23 Fine Inisi.

Waratahs: 15 Alex Newsome, 14 Mark Nawaqanitawase, 13 Izaia Perese, 12 Lalakai Foketi, 11 Dylan Pietsch, 10 Tane Edmed, 9 Jake Gordon (captain), 8 Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco, 7 Charlie Gamble, 6 Will Harris, 5 Geoff Cridge, 4 Jed Holloway, 3 Archer Holz, 2 Dave Porecki, 1 Angus Bell.

: 16 Tom Horton, 17 Teterta Faulkner, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Hugh Sinclair, 20 Langi Gleeson, 21 Jack Grant, 22 Ben Donaldson, 23 Triston Reilly.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.