South Africa Springboks Rugby News

Mohoje leads SA ‘A’ team against England Saxons




South Africa ‘A’ Head coach Johan Ackermann has included four Springbok forwards in his team to play England Saxons in the first of two matches.

Ackermann has named Oupa Mohoje as captain and also included Nizaam Carr, Stephan Lewies and Vincent Koch who have all played for the Springboks.

Ackermann has also included a further two Springboks on the bench, in Coenie Oosthuizen and Piet van Zyl.

They will be joined in the SA ‘A’ match-23 by six players who only got their first taste of Super Rugby earlier this year, in Leolin Zas, JD Schickerling (both starting), Lizo Gqoboka Jean-Luc du Preez, RG Snyman and Lukhanyo Am (all four on the bench).

The four members of the Springbok squad for the Series against Ireland, who were released to the SA ‘A’ squad, will all start on Friday. They are Garth April (flyhalf), Nic Groom (scrumhalf), Sikhumbuzo Notshe (flank) and Scarra Ntubeni (hooker).

“I think we have a brilliant mix of experienced players who have tasted what Test rugby is all about, as well as the four members of the Springbok squad, and exciting youngsters who will be pushing for higher honours in the coming seasons,” said Ackermann.

“There is a lot of value in having players with Test and Super Rugby experience working with these youngsters and I’m sure we’ll see some excitement on the field on Friday.

“But we’re up against a very formidable opponent and the Saxons have been together for a long time already, so our players know that they have to sharp, focused and on top of their game for the full 80 minutes on Friday.”

The second encounter between the SA ‘A’ side and the England Saxons is next Friday at Outeniqua Park in George.

SA ‘A’ team

15 . Leolin Zas ,14 . Travis Ismaiel ,13 . Francois Venter (vice-captain),12 . Howard Mnisi ,11 . Courtnall Skosan , 10 . Garth April , 9 . Nic Groom , 8 . Nizaam Carr, 7 . Oupa Mohoje (captain) , 6 . Sikhumbuzo Notshe , 5 . Stephan Lewies ,4 . JD Schickerling . ,3 . Vincent Koch ,2 . Scarra Ntubeni , 1 . Thomas du Toit

Replacements: 16 . Malcolm Marx , 17 . Lizo Gqoboka , 18 . Coenie Oosthuizen , 19 . RG Snyman , 20 . Jean-Luc du Preez , 21 . Piet van Zyl , 22 . Francois Brummer . 23 . Lukhanyo Am

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.