Moore names Highlanders trial match team




Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Highlanders coach Glenn Moore has named his team to face the Chiefs in a trial match this weekend. The match is the first of two pre-season games.

Jamie Mackintosh is replacing Jimmy Cowan as captain for this game as Jimmy is still on leave from his All Black duties along with fellow team-mate Adam Thomson.

Moore was unable to name a full strength side as four players were not considered due to injury.

Kenny Lynn has a groin strain, Clint Newland has a calf strain while Jayden Hayward is suffering from a shoulder injury.

Meanwhile a foot injury has sidelined Joe Tuineau.

The Carisbrook match against the Chiefs starts at 2.30pm and as it is a trial match it will be played in 20minute quarters.


1 Jamie Mackintosh ( c ), 2 Jason Macdonald, 3 Bronson Murray, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 5 Hayden Triggs, 6 John Hardie, 7 Tim Boys, 8 Steven Setephano, 9 Scott Cowan (WTG), 10 Michael Hobbs, 11 Fetu’u Vainikolo, 12 Jason Shoemark, 13 Brett Mather (WTG), 14 Ryan Shortland, 15 Robbie Robinson

Replacements: 16. Jason Rutledge , 17. Chris King, 18. Hoani Matenga (WTG), 19. Tom Donnelly, 20. Nasi Manu, 21. Alando Soakai, 22. Sean Romans, 23. Matt Berquist, 24. Chris Noakes (WTG), 25. James Paterson, 26. Israel Dagg, 27. Ben Smith

(WTG ‘ Wider Training Group)











Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.