N.Zealand v Argentina Rugby Championship Preview



Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Out of the last five matches between New Zealand’s All Blacks and Argentina’s Pumas the All Blacks have won all five.

In those five matches the closest Argentina have finished against the All Blacks was a 15 point loss.

Argentina have never beaten the All Blacks and the closest they came to pulling off a victory was in Buenos Aires in 1985 when the two teams drew 21-21.

Since then Argentina have lost their last 16 matches against the All Blacks including the 2011 Quarter final in Auckland.

That gives the All Blacks a record of winning 94% of their matches against the Pumas and the average score when the teams meet is New Zealand 42 Argentina 13.

This weekend the All Blacks will host Argentina in New Zealand where the teams have now played 10 times. As the All Blacks have never lost to the Pumas and the draw was in Argentina New Zealand have a 100% record against Argentina at home.

The average score when New Zealand play Argentina in New Zealand is : New Zealand 50 Argentina 11.

The last two matches between these teams played in New Zealand both finished in 16 point or less victories for the All Blacks.

The All Blacks made a slow start to this year’s Rugby Championship by drawing in Sydney with the Wallabies but then blew off the cobwebs in Auckland two weeks ago and smashed the Wallabies in the second round.

Argentina are still looking for their first Rugby Championship victory and looked like they could have won their first match two weeks ago against South Africa but let the game slip away from them and the Springboks stole the match.

The All Blacks have made three changes to their side for this week and most noticeably they have given a start to Beauden Barrett while Aaron Cruden misses out to rest an injury. Colin Slade will provide cover on the bench.

Elsewhere in the backline Ma’a Nonu has recovered from his shoulder bruising and is back at 12, while Israel Dagg is in the 15 jersey, with Ben Smith moving to the right wing.

Leonardo Senatore has replaced Paul Matera who is injured with Senatore moving to the back of the scrum where he joins Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe and Juan Manuel Leguizamon making up the loose trio.

Fifty-three-test-cap wing Horacio Agulla has replaced Manuel Montero while Juan Imhoff will act as an impact player when he comes off the bench.

Argentina have taken a step up this season but they are up against the number one team in the world. In the last three years they have only lost one match and at home they have not lost since September 2009.

The Bookies have given Argentina a 27 point start for this Match – with an offer of a FREE $250.00 Bet. The All Blacks will have home advantage and too much power for the Pumas in this contest. New Zealand should win by 18 or more.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports 3/HD.

Average score: New Zealand 42 Argentina 13

Last five results
28 Sep 2013 New Zealand v Argentina 33-15 La Plata
07 Sep 2013 New Zealand v Argentina 28-13 Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
29 Sep 2012 New Zealand v Argentina 54-15 La Plata
08 Sep 2012 New Zealand v Argentina 21-5 Westpac Trust, Wellington
Sun, 09 Oct 2011 RWC Qtr final New Zealand v Argentina 33-10 Eden Park, Auckland

overall record against the
Played 18 , Wins 17 , Losses 0 , Draws 1

Match No.5: New Zealand v Argentina
Date : 6 September 2014
Venue : McLean Park, Napier, New Zealand
Referee: Pascal Gauzere
Assistant Ref 1:Jerome Gaes
Assistant Ref 2:Rohan Hoffman
TMO : Peter Marshall


New Zealand

Israel Dagg; Ben Smith, Conrad Smith, Ma’a Nonu, Julian Savea; Beauden Barrett, Aaron Smith; Kieran Reid, Richie McCaw (captain), Liam Messam; Sam Whitelock, Brodie Retallick; Owen Franks, Dane Coles, Wyatt Crockett.

Replacements: Keven Mealamu, Ben Franks, Joe Moody, Jeremy Thrush, Sam Cane, TJ Perenara, Colin Slade, Malakai Fekitoa.


Joaquin Tuculet; Horacio Agulla, Marcelo Bosch, Juan Martin Hernandez, Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino; Nicolas Sanchez, Martin Landajo; Leonardo Senatore, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe; Tomas Lavanini, Mariano Galarza; Ramiro Herrera, Agustin Creevy (capt), Marcos Ayerza

Replacements: Matias Cortese, Lucas Noguera Paz, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Matias Alemanno, Rodrigo Baez, Tomas Cubelli, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Juan Imhoff.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.