Rugby Championship News

N.Zealand v Australia Rugby Championship Preview




Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


Out of the last five Rugby Championship and Bledisloe Cup matches between New Zealand’s All Blacks and Australia’s Wallabies the All Blacks have won three and drawn two.

In the last eight Rugby Championship and Bledisloe Cup matches the All Blacks are unbeaten by the Wallabies as the Australians last victory was August 2011.

The Rugby Championship replaced the TriNations in 2012 and the countries have played each other five times and the All Blacks have won four matches and drawn one.

Overall the All Blacks have played Wallabies 150 times and the All Blacks have won 102 matches or 68% of the matches. The Wallabies have won 41 matches and there have been 7 draws since 1903.

In the last 10 years they have played each other 30 times and the All Blacks have only lost five times and draw twice. All other matches were won by the All Blacks.

This weekend the match will be played at Eden Park in Auckland and New Zealand’s All Blacks have played Australia’s Wallabies there 24 times. The Wallabies have won four times and the All Blacks have won 20 times at the venue giving them a record of wining 84% of their matches at the venue.

The All Blacks have had an incredible run at Eden Park in recent times and they have not lost to Australia at the venue since September 1986. The Wallabies have therefore won their last 14 matches at Eden Park against Australia.

In terms of recent form Australia have not lost in their last eight matches while the All Blacks have not lost in their last 18 matches. The Wallabies had home advantage last week and while they arguably finished the match the stronger team they had to settle with a 12 all draw.

The All Blacks started the match stronger but faded a little as the match wore on. They also struggled with the referee who yellow carded two players and has since admitted that he made mistakes.

The All Blacks were hit with a couple of injuries in last week’s match and have named a slightly weaker team compared to the one that played last week. Jerome Kaino and Ma’a Nonu both miss out and there is still no Dan Carter.

The Wallabies on the other hand have been able to name an unchanged team for this week.

No one likes a draw but you get the feeling that the draw will have given the Wallabies some inspiration but will have annoyed the All Blacks and it feels more like a loss for them given that it ended their winning streak. The All Blacks should be up for it a lot more this week.

The Bookies have given Australia an 11 point start for this Match – with an offer of a FREE $250.00 Bet. Home advantage is massive in the Rugby Championship and the All Blacks record at Eden Park is second to none. The All Blacks should win this one with breathing space. All Blacks to win by 8 or a little more.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ, Aus, SA and in the UK on Sky Sports3/HD

Average score:

Last five results
16 Aug 2014 New Zealand v Australia 12-12 Stadium Australia, Sydney
19 Oct 2013 New Zealand v Australia 41-33 Otago Stadium, Dunedin
24 Aug 2013 New Zealand v Australia 27-16 Westpac Trust, Wellington
17 Aug 2013 New Zealand v Australia 47-29 Stadium Australia, Sydney
20 Oct 2012 New Zealand v Australia 18-18 Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

New Zealand overall record against Australia in Rugby Championship /Bledisloe Cup
Played 150 , Wins 102 , Losses 41 , Draws 7

Match No.3: New Zealand v Australia
Date : 23rd August 2014
Venue : Eden Park, Auckland, New Zealand
Referee: Romaine Poite
Assistant Ref 1: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 2:Stuart Berry
TMO : Shaun Veldsman


New Zealand

1. Wyatt Crockett , 2. Dane Coles , 3. Owen Franks , 4. Brodie Retallick , 5. Samuel Whitelock , 6. Liam Messam , 7. Richie McCaw (c), 8. Kieran Read , 9. Aaron Smith , 10. Aaron Cruden , 11. Julian Savea , 12. Ryan Crotty , 13. Conrad Smith , 14. Cory Jane, 15. Ben Smith

Replacements : 16. Keven Mealamu , 17. Ben Franks , 18. Charlie Faumuina , 19. Steven Luatua , 20. Sam Cane , 21. TJ Perenara , 22. Beauden Barrett, 23. Malakai Fekitoa


Israel Folau; Pat McCabe, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Matt Toomua, Rob Horne; Kurtley Beale, Nic White; Wycliff Palu, Michael Hooper (capt), Scott Fardy; Rob Simmons, Sam Carter; Sekope Kepu, Nathan Charles, James Slipper

Replacements: James Hanson, Pek Cowan, Ben Alexander, Will Skelton, Scott Higginbotham, Nick Phipps, Bernard Foley, Tevita Kuridrani

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.